Switching Off

After Saturday’s 32K training run, I decided to take things easy for the first half of the week by not running at all. While it was good to allow some time for the old muscles to recover, I really missed the way that running helps me to get my head straight again after a busy day at the office. So, when I got home this evening, I decided to get changed right away and head straight back out the door again for a nice evening run.

There wasn’t really a plan for this evening’s session. Just a minimum of 5K at whatever pace I felt like to help me switch off the brain and relax. And it worked.

I used the usual 3:1 run/walk ratio and tried to keep things at a fairly moderate pace. I didn’t want to go too slowly as it was pretty cold; but I didn’t want to over-do things either as I still needed to get another two runs in before Sunday to meet my Jantastic target for this week.

Luckily, there was a bit of a headwind to help keep things in check and, even though I was running hard when the wind was behind me, it was nice to slow down a bit and enjoy its cooling effects on the return journey.

Time wise, I finished in just under 32 minutes, which is about right for an easy to moderate run. But more importantly, my mind feels much more relaxed than it has done all week.

Tomorrow, I plan to pick things up a bit pace wise, but for now I’m just happy that I finally got a run in this week.

How’s your training going? What effect does running have on your mind? Do you run to relax and unwind? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Switching Off”

  1. CeeJayKay says :

    hmmm im struggling this week… just so tired but like you, sometimes i just need to get out there to refresh the mind, breathe some fresh air and shrug off the days stress…
    Cant believe the Brighton half is like 10 days away already!!! the time has totally FLOWN! have a fab weekend x

  2. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    Oh, I know what you mean about the head-clearing effects of a good run (or even a bad run, truth be told). I must, I positively must begin running again. I haven’t been at it due to other commitments and dreadfully cold temperatures (below zero today, yikes!). I’ll be back at it soon (and perhaps write a blog post about it)

  3. Kerrie says :

    Oh I can’t not run! Think I’d loose the plot!

  4. diawalker says :

    I’m learning to relax my mind and enjoy the peace that comes with running.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

