Friday Evening Run

Getting out for a run in this cold weather isn’t easy. I’ve no excuses really, other than that it’s cold outside and the thought of running in the cold when I could be warm and snug at home just seems silly; but then again, the thought of missing out on my runs these days fills me with marathon DNF dread, not to mention fear and shame at the thought of Jantastic failure.

So, this evening I took my own advice for once. I switched off my brain, changed into my running clothes and headed out the door into the cold, dark, wild and windy streets of central Hove.

I didn’t plan to do anything spectacular. I just wanted to get a run in, so I took it nice and easy and started running as soon as the Garmin found a satellite. This meant running on the streets between my flat and the seafront, which was a bit annoying as I had to dodge some pedestrians and wait for traffic, but at least it was warmer than walking.

There was a fairly decent wind on the seafront but, as it was coming from the north, it didn’t really cause me any problems as I ran east, then west and then east again. In fact, the run itself was a fairly uneventful 6 kilometres. I could probably have run a bit faster, and would have gladly run a bit further, but with my long run scheduled for tomorrow, I decided against it.

Still, it was nice to get out and get it done; and at least I won’t have to use my second Joker this week for Jantastic!

How’s your training going? How do you get yourself out the door for a run on these cold winter evenings? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Friday Evening Run”

  1. Keith says :

    Sounds like a fun run – I’d rather put up with the odd pedestrian than the cold bracing seafront.

    • theblogrunner says :

      I suppose the good thing about pedestrians is that they make good practice for dodging round people on race day – the unpredictability of small children on scooters does my head in though.

      • Keith says :

        At the start of the Royal Parks a couple years ago a bloke ran in front of the field pushing a pram. There were about 50 of us bunched together who all had to dodge him. The marshals went nuts!

      • theblogrunner says :

        I’m not surprised! Some people just don’t think – to be honest, it’s the main reason I haven’t done parkrun in ages. I like the fact that people can run with prams and kids, but it only takes a one or two who don’t seem to realise that there are other people running too, and that kind of spoils it for me.

      • Keith says :

        Yeah we have a guy whose typical “my fit” who runs with his son in a pram. Fair dues to him be he does cause the run to bunch up in the narrower parts of the park.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

