It’s My Birthday And I’ll Run How I Want To

Today is my 41st birthday and to celebrate the occasion I had planned on running a half marathon as  practice for next month’s Brighton Half Marathon. However, as the weather has turned yet again, bringing more wind and rain to the south coast, I decided to postpone and go for a quick 5K around Hove park instead.

It has been a while since I’ve run in the park. This is because I don’t really want to run in the park at night, and on the weekends I prefer to get a long run in along the seafront. But since I’ve taken a few days off work, the park seemed like a good option for a rare mid-week morning run.

As I was doing a shorter distance than planned, I decided to try out my new GymBoss Mini Max. I’ve had my eye on these for a while now and, since I had some Birthday money to spend, decided to treat myself.

gymboss mini max

The GymBoss is basically an interval timer that you can use to pre-program your run/walk ratios, which will be useful for my longer runs as my maths brain tends to go to pot after an hour or so! Also, it’s good for trying out different ratios that aren’t as easy to keep an eye on while you’re running – if your running and walking segments don’t add up to whole minutes, for example.

Anyway, I wasn’t going to try anything too complicated today, but thought it would be interesting to try out a shorter ratio of 2:30 running and 0:30 walking. Apparently shorter ratios can help you to go faster, although I didn’t quite manage that this morning.

I started off by running my usual pace for a 3:1 ratio, thinking that it would be easy because I wasn’t running for as long, but I soon found that the shorter walk breaks meant that I wasn’t recovering as well as I usually do. By the third kilometre I was really starting to struggle, so I decided ad lib and take some longer walk breaks just to get the distance in.

In the end, I completed the 5K in 31:52, which isn’t too bad all things considered.

In terms of the half marathon, I will stick to the ratio that I have trained for, and will hopefully get my birthday run in later in the week; but for my 5K runs, I plan to try out the shorter ratio a few more times just to see how it goes once I’ve figured out how to pace things a bit better.

How’s your training going? What apps and gadgets do you use to help your training? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , , , ,

18 responses to “It’s My Birthday And I’ll Run How I Want To”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    Happy Birthday Kirsten! That’s right, you can do anything you want on your birthday!
    Ha, yeah I’ve found anything less than a 1 minute walk break doesn’t really give me the rest I need. Good luck figuring out what’s right for you! I need to get 3 miles in today…but I’m not finding the motivation 😦

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. I’ll keep experimenting! 🙂
      Ah, 3 miles is nothing for you these days. When I feel like that, I switch my brain off, get dressed by the coffee machine and just focus on crossing the doorstep. After that you might as well at least have a little run. 😉

  2. @ScorpioOnSUP says :

    Happy birthday! And the timer looks good!

  3. madhat2014 says :

    Happy birthday! I like a new gadget! 🙂

  4. JulieOnCloud9 says :

    Happy Birthday! I treated myself to a GymBoss before Christmas and, you’re right, it’s so easy to alter on the go. It took me ages to get my head around adjusting ratios – it makes so much more sense to do that!

  5. willbfit says :

    Happy, happy birthday!! Wishing you the best!

  6. getgoing-getrunning says :

    Happy birthday! Nice piece of kit you got yourself there! I think you’re right – a minute is barely enough to catch your breath, let alone get the heart rate to drop significantly. Slightly longer walk breaks will allow you to go much further without having to drop your run pace too much. All the best for Brighton!

  7. CeeJayKay says :

    Gosh how did I miss this?
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY HUNNYBUNS!!!! Congrats!!! Wishing you many more fabulous birthdays and happy long runs in 2015!!!! XCJ

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Motivation | Artistic Sharon Runs… - January 28, 2015

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

