Picking Up The Pace

My pace has been pretty slow during my last few runs. I put this down to the fact that I’m working on increasing my distance and have to go slower in order to go further, but even on my shorter runs my pace hasn’t been great. So, this evening after work I decided that I would try to kick things up a notch.

To be honest, I didn’t really feel like going out for a run this evening. But, as the wind had died down and the temperature was a bit milder than it has been over the last week or so, it would have been a shame to miss out. So, after a quick snack and a nice hot mug of coffee, I switched off my brain and got myself out the front door for my evening run.

I didn’t really have any kind of plan other than that I wanted to go faster. Ideally, I would do 5K, but knowing that I was focussing on speed, I figured that 3K would do, or somewhere in between.

I set off fairly quickly, completing the first kilometre in 6:02, but I knew I couldn’t keep it going for long. So, after 10 minutes I decided to revert to my 3:1 run/walk ratio. Usually, when I’m running ratios, I try to pace myself for the overall distance, but this evening I decided to just focus on going as fast as I could for each three minute segment.

Not long into my third walk break, my Garmin beeped to let me know that I had just completed my third kilometre. I wasn’t sure of my exact time as the Forerunner 110 pauses for a few seconds to show the summary at the end of each split, but knowing that I was still under 19 minutes, I realised that if I could keep going for 5K I might just be in with a chance of a PB.

Of course, I hadn’t been pacing myself for 5K, so I was doubtful about whether or not I could do it, but I figured it was worth the effort to keep going and see how close I could get.

Even though I could feel the pace slipping in the fourth kilometre, I kept going. I tried to focus on just completing each three minute running segment and walked as quickly as I could in the walk breaks to stop the average pace from slowing down too much.

At the end of the fourth kilometre, I glanced at the Garmin again and saw that my time was around 24:30. I did some quick maths and realised that, as long as I didn’t slow down by more than ten seconds or so, I could probably get close to my PB. So I kept going, took my final walk break as briskly as possible, and then tried to pick up the pace and run as fast as I could for the final stretch which, if I was going to beat my PB, would have to be under four minutes.

And it was! I reached 5K in 30:32, knocking a full 22 seconds off the PB that I had set at the end of December!

2015-01-22_SplitsSo, it seems that my fears of becoming slower by focusing on distance were completely unfounded; in fact, I suspect that those long slow runs have probably helped. I could be wrong, but I think it’s possible that my pace may have improved as a result of the run/walk ratios making me run faster than my average 5K pace (albeit for three minutes at a time) over the longer distances.

How does training for distance affect your pace on shorter runs? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Picking Up The Pace”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    Well Done Kirsten!!! I really need to get back to more realistic run/walk ratios – lately I’ve been trying to run for a mile before walking – has not worked out well. And since my fall last weekend I haven’t run at all…still a little stiff and sore. I plan on just waiting until Saturday to run again.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. I find the shorter ratios work better as I get to go a bit faster without getting so tired. I guess it’s a lot to do with experimenting and just trying things out. I hope you’re feeling better and that you enjoyed your run on Saturday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

