The Getting Lost Game

This whole Jantastic nonsense really seems to be doing the trick in terms of getting me off my backside and out the front door in the evening. take tonight for example. The temperature was 5 C (might as well call it freezing really) and there was an icy breeze blowing in from the sea. It was cold, dark and damp outside, while inside the heating had kicked in, the cat was looking for cuddles and the couch was calling. Which would you choose?

Ordinarily, like any vaguely sane person, I’d opt for the latter. However, as it’s the beginning of the third week of Jantastic and last night was the coldest night of the year so far (not quite as dramatic as it sounds since we’re only 20 days into the year, but it was pretty damn cold nonetheless), I figured I’d better get a run in before the temperature drops even further. So, wrapped up in double layers of everything, I headed out to… not the seafront!

I know. I usually head for the seafront for my evening runs, but the thought of walking for ten minutes in the cold to get to the promenade wasn’t very appealing. I wanted to start running as soon as possible, so I decided to head in the opposite direction, into the residential rabbit warren known as Deepest Darkest Hove. I didn’t have a particular route in mind, so decided just to have a bit of a run around and get myself lost in the winding streets before trying to find my way home again.

2015-01-20_Map

The pace was pretty slow, partly because I had to pause to cross roads, but mostly because it was dark and the headlights from the oncoming traffic was glaring on my glasses. But I didn’t mind. It was nice to run somewhere different with plenty of hills and dips to keep things interesting. That and the fact that, once I was off the main road and the streets started twisting and turning, I didn’t have a clue what direction I was running in, never mind where I was on the map that I had going on in my head. At one point I even managed to run in a complete loop without realising it!

After about 5 kilometres, however, I found myself back on familiar ground and decided to head for home. I retraced my steps to the point where I had started running and then continued a bit further to complete a total of 7 kilometres. Not bad for an evening run on an unfamiliar route!

How’s your training going? Do you like to vary your routes or do your prefer stick to the same well trodden paths? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “The Getting Lost Game”

  1. WalkToRio says :

    For my long easy workout I like to explore. But for my fast pace and shorter workouts I rather stick to the roads I know.

  2. runningprincess78 says :

    I know I should mix up my routes more but I’m bad for sticking with my favourites. Creature of habit, I guess!
    I must confess to a little curiosity as to the reason you took a different route. Is running to the seafront not an option?

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hmmm… that’s a good point! 😀
      I suppose the main reason I don’t like running to the seafront is that the streets are really badly lit and the pavements are pretty awful – they have trees growing through them so lots of roots to trip over!
      The other reason (which I didn’t think about until now) could be that I’m becoming a bit OCD about the seafront route and don’t want to start running until I get there. 😉

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

