Last Run of 2014

This evening I completed my final run of 2014 and, despite the ups and downs of my first full year of running, I’m pleased to say that it ended on a high. In fact, this past week has been one of my best so far in terms of progress.

At the weekend, I managed to achieve two 5K PBs. The first was on Saturday, when I started off with the intention of running the whole 5 kilometres but then switched to run-walk-run after the 3K mark. As I’d walked part of it, I was surprised to beat my PB of 8 months previously, so I thought I’d run the same route on Sunday using run-walk-run for the full distance to see if there is any truth in the claim that you can achieve better times using run-walk-run than you can by running alone.

To cut a long story short (it’s in my previous post of you want to read about it), it worked. I beat Saturday’s PB by 22 seconds and achieved my first ever sub 31 time for 5K. But who’s to say I wouldn’t have been quicker by running the whole way? After all, it made sense that Sunday’s time would be quicker as I was using the run/walk ratio throughout the entire run, rather than waiting until I felt I needed a break because I hadn’t paced myself properly.Β So, this evening I decided to try to get a more accurate comparison by running the whole way.

It was pretty cold when I went out, just a couple of degrees above freezing, so I layered up with a long-sleeved t-shirt, short sleeved t-shirt, my new winter running top (the kind that has holes for your thumbs so that you can keep your hands warm) and an old hoody that I could easily remove and tie around my waist in the unlikely event that I got too hot.

Luckily there wasn’t much of a breeze on the seafront so although it was very cold it wasn’t too uncomfortable. I set off at a comfortable pace and tried to keep an eye on the Garmin as I passed under the street lights. It was important not to set off too quickly and tire myself out early as I really wanted to see if I could beat Sunday’s time.

The plan was to do the first kilometre in under 6:30 and gradually pick up the pace so that I could finish with a good kick. I was aiming for an average pace of under 6:11, so I figured it should be doable. The only problem I had with this was that, as it was dark, I couldn’t check my pace as much as I would have liked. But still, I kept it going, trying to increase the pace gradually as I went.

By the final kilometre, the pace had increased to 6:00, but I was feeling pretty tired. My legs didn’t feel like they were turning over as quickly as I would have liked, and there certainly wasn’t any kick left in them. However, I still kept pushing, trying to up the pace until the Garmin finally beeped at 5K.

Unfortunately, I didn’t manage to beat Sunday’s time, but I wasn’t too far off it and finished at 31:03 – just 9 seconds slower than with run-walk-run, but still faster than Saturday’s PB.

2014-12-30_Splits

Of course, whether you are using run-walk-run or running the whole way, no two runs are ever the same, so I can’t really claim at this stage that run-walk-run is always going to be faster. What it does show, however, is it doesn’t seem to make that much difference to my 5K time as both runs were around 31 minutes.

As I continue with my training over the next month or so, I plan to continue to use both methods for my 5K runs, so maybe a pattern will start to emerge – or maybe not. Either way though, it’s good to see some progress.

How has your training gone this year? Have you completed your final run of 2014? Are you happy with your progress so far? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , , ,

13 responses to “Last Run of 2014”

  1. redfacedbutrunderful says :

    That’s great progress! Proud of your year? You should be. And well done for getting out in the cold & doing a final goodbye 2014 run! Here’s to 2015!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you. It has definitely been a good year for running and I am really pleased with the progress – especially that final run in the cold! Here’s to more running adventures in 2015! Happy New Year to you! πŸ™‚

  2. artisticsharon says :

    You’re so right, no two runs are really the same so it’s hard to compare run/walk with all run but you really did a great job!! I hope to get one more run in tomorrow before 2015 arrives. It’s going to be cold and rainy here which means I’ll go to Anytime Fitness to run on the treadmill…yeehaw.

    Congrats on finishing 2014 strong!!!

  3. @ScorpioOnSUP says :

    Hope you make further progress. If not, you can always switch back to running the whole time. But, once again, everybody is different. Hope you achieve the results you want. πŸ™‚

  4. osarah26 says :

    You’re right, it’s difficult to compare running methods but it looks like you’re doing a great job either way. It didn’t even occur to me that my last run would be the last of 2014!

  5. stopthejiggle says :

    Sounds like you’re doing really well with your running. Keep it up in 2015 πŸ™‚

  6. CeeJayKay says :

    Yaaay!!!! Thats fantastic!!!!! Happy New Year hunny xxx i had a poncha (3) fir you πŸ˜‚

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you! Happy New Year to you too and thanks for having the poncha for me – I only had one (large) glass of wine as had to do a long run this morning, so I appreciate you helping me out there. πŸ˜‰
      Hope you’re having a great time! xx

      • CeeJayKay says :

        excited… 11km today… no running ye tough, but a good walking time so I a happy…great way to start the year! ONE drink last night… twas for you πŸ™‚ Kirsten dear… and OH my how fab is YOUR running coming along???? GO GIRL!!! xxx

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

