Running On Lemsip

It took longer than usual to get motivated this morning, partly due to waking up late but mostly because I’ve got a bit of a cold and couldn’t decide whether or not it would be ok to run. After a Tesco imitation Lemsip and a couple of mugs of coffee, however, I figured that I really ought to make the effort. Even if I didn’t manage to complete the 5K that I’d planned, getting any kind of run in would be better than festering on the couch in my PJs. So, at about 10:30, I headed to the seafront for a let’s see how it goes  kind of run.

I thought it would have been busier on the promenade, but was pleased that there weren’t too many people around. A few runners, dog walkers and people out for an nice morning stroll in the sunshine, but nothing compared to Christmas Day.

I set off on my usual route, with the wind behind me, towards the Peace Statue and turned around just before the cafe to face the headwind. The wind was a bit stronger than I was comfortable with, but I kept going, knowing that I had already given myself a sick note to finish early if necessary.

Once I returned to the starting point at the 2K mark, however, I didn’t feel too bad. Having the wind in my face was still a bit annoying, but the temperature was fairly mild and the sun was shining so it seemed like a shame to throw in the towel.

So, I kept going, trying to keep a nice steady pace, and then, as with yesterday, dropped down to a 3:1 run/walk ratio at the 3K mark. As I continued on to the 4th kilometre, I realised that my pace had dropped a bit. It was still ok, but I could probably run a bit faster in the running sections, so I pushed a little bit harder. Not too much, just enough to feel it a bit more, and then something unthinkable happened.

I know they say that you can improve your overall time using run-walk-run, and I have found that on the whole my pace doesn’t very too much whether I use run-walk-run or continuous running for the whole distance; but when I came to the end of my walking section at 28 minutes (just under 4.5K), I realised that if I picked up the pace and kept going until the end, I might just be in with the chance of a PB.

I knew it would be close as my PB was 31:28 and I reckoned by average pace was around 6:20 minutes per kilometre, so I went for it. I picked up the pace again, being careful not to go too fast. Then, at 31 minutes, when I should have stopped to walk, I pushed as hard as I could until the Garmin beeped to let me know I was done. 31:16. A new PB!

2014-12-27_Splits

But the best part was that I had run that final kilometre in 5:57 minutes using run-walk-run. Now, I don’t know if I could manage that for the whole 5K, but I reckon it’s worth a go. I have two more runs to do before the end of the year, and I’d love to get that elusive sub-30 nailed down once and for all, so I’ll give it a go and see what happens.

Of course, it could just have been the Lemsip. 😉

This post is part of the Virtual Running UK Blog Hop. To join the fun and share your weekend runs, click here.

Circle Hop

Tags: , , , , ,

19 responses to “Running On Lemsip”

  1. willbfit says :

    Woo-hoo! It’s only a matter of time before you get that sub thirty! Way to go!! High five from across the pond!!

  2. fisefton says :

    Great run! We didn’t get to parkrun today – it was migraine central here again 😒 but we’ll hopefully get there for the first run of 2015 on Thursday. Anyway, when I run with Adam I find that our last km is nearly always sub-6 minutes. I just have to get our first km to under 6:40-ish and then we might be in with a shot.

    Do you think that extending your run interval might help? Just a thought. Great job getting out there though x

    • theblogrunner says :

      The whole extending the run intervals is kind of interesting. According to Jeff Galloway, it’s running shorter intervals that makes you go faster overall, because you run faster on the running sections and cut down on the walking time. I’m yet to be convinced on that one, but might give it a go in the New Year to see if it works.
      Sorry to hear you weren’t feeling so good today. I hope the migraine clears up for Thursday.

  3. CeeJayKay says :

    ha haaaaaa!!!!! FANNNNNNtastic!!!!! and so proud of you for hauling yer butt out!!!! insoiring babes inspiring!!!!

  4. @ScorpioOnSUP says :

    PB, kimlometre… Can’t get my head around on those… Seriously, can’t tell how fast you run in those… LOL 😉 Anyway, good to see you run despite the cold… and that you actually had a good result. I think that, and many would agree, the hardest part is put your shoes on and get out the door. Hope you squeeze those two remaining runs in by the end of the year! 🙂

  5. unsportywomencanrun says :

    That’s awesome, well done on the PB and I doubt it was the lemsip 🙂

  6. artisticsharon says :

    Yay! way to go on the PB! You’re starting to rack those up 😉 And doing it when you don’t feel so hot is even better. I hope you’re feeling back to your old self real soon 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. It’s nice to be getting back on form again and the run definitely made me feel a lot better. I reckon the salty sea air helps with a cold, but just getting out makes a big difference too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

