Christmas Day Run

Merry Christmas! As it’s Christmas day, I decided to treat myself to a nice early morning 5K. Unfortunately, I accidentally drank too much alcohol on Christmas Eve and, not being much of a drinker these days, wasn’t ready to head out the door until the afternoon.

It was pretty busy down on the seafront with lots of people taking advantage of the mild weather and sunshine for a Christmas Day stroll by the sea, but still plenty of room to run.

I took it fairly easy, running the first 3K before switching to a 3:1 run/walk ratio and finishing with a time of 33:15 – not as fast as I would have liked but I was still feeling a bit rough. Still, I was glad to get the run in and felt much better after a bit of fresh air and exercise.

Did you run on Christmas Day? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “Christmas Day Run”

  1. David Faust says :

    Hi there. I did a 2.5 mile run. It was meant to be 3 but Christmas happened. Managed to do it with an average of 8:35 which for me is both great and unheard of. Contemplating the same route tomorrow morning…

  2. artisticsharon says :

    Merry Christmas Kirsten! I got 3 miles in today too…although mine was in 39 minutes 😉

  3. willbfit says :

    It’s so nice to see you still going strong with your running. Merry Christmas, and happy New year!

  4. @ScorpioOnSUP says :

    Since you’re not following my running blog (Dreaming of Running Boston Marathon… you’re following my hiking/backpacking blog at the moment 🙂 ), so you may not know, but yes, I did have my Christmas Day Run today. It was great because the temp stayed low at below 63 F (Southern California). I love running when the temps are low (below 66). Merry Christmas and have a fabulous rest of the year!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hi. I didn’t realise you had another blog, so thanks for the heads up – now following that one too and looking forward to reading more about your running as well as the hiking. 🙂
      Good to hear you got your Christmas Day run in, although I doubt I’d be much good in Southern California – it was 46 F here and I thought that was warm! 😀
      Merry Christmas to you too and best wishes for 2015!

      • @ScorpioOnSUP says :

        Thanks for following. I didnt mean to come across that you should follow my running blog. However, I must say that since I started blogging my journey, I’ve come across a few blogs that keep me motivated, including yours, and it turns out there are so many! 🙂 Anyway, keep running and keep us movtivated!!! Happy new year! P.S. Stay warm!

      • theblogrunner says :

        Don’t worry, I didn’t take it like that. I was pleased you mentioned it as I love reading about everyone’s running adventures. Keeps me motivated too and it’s a great way of sharing tips and generally chatting about running.
        p.s. The heating is on! 😀

  5. runningprincess78 says :

    We did 4.5 miles – our first ever Christmas day run and we ran together which is a real rarity as our paces are so different. It was brilliant fun stopping to take photos and call out greetings to others so we’ll definitely do that again. I had secretly entered us in a virtual event so hubby got a surprise when we got home and I had festive medals waiting for us 🙂
    Hope you had a great Christmas 🙂

  6. CeeJayKay says :

    oh Kirsten i did my calf in again so i ha morose day! sooooo frustrated…. here i am in Madeira, the sun is shining and we had so many runs planned… hubby is out doing them while i try look on the positive side and brush up on my tan! i guess a tan is great comoensation 🙂 (trying to convinve herself)
    Your run sounds amazing… yo go girl for getting out there… flipping good time too for a hangonver!!!! pheeeeuw!!! xxx have a FAB new year!!!!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

