It’s Time For A Training Plan

Since my return to training in September, I haven’t really had much of a training plan. Sure, I’ve mapped out when I need to up my distance to make sure I’m ready for the half marathon in February and the full marathon in April, but beyond that I’ve really just been winging it.

Not that there’s anything wrong with winging it for a couple of months. If nothing else, it has helped me to figure out how much running I could cope with as I eased myself back into training again. But now that I am getting back up to speed, I feel it’s time to get some structure and routine back again.

One thing I have realised is that I have to make a choice between continuous running and run-walk-run. Originally, I thought I could use both to work on my distance and endurance, but the reality is that there just isn’t enough recovery time to do both if I’m going to be race fit for the February and April events. So, I made a decision and came up with a plan… of sorts.

I have decided that I’m going to stick with run-walk-run when it comes to increasing the distance and that I will use this strategy for both races. Apart from the fact that I can increase the distance more quickly in this way without affecting my overall pace too much, run-walk-run also puts less strain on the joints and muscles, which is the main thing that has got me back on track over the last couple of months.

The other deciding factor in adopting the run-walk-run strategy is that ultimately I want to be able to run ultra-marathons and, for most ultra-runners, running the whole distance is not an option. Unlike with marathons and half-marathons, when it comes to ultra-running, using a run-walk strategy is pretty much the norm, even amongst the fastest runners – not that I’ll ever be one of them, but if it makes sense for them, then who am I to argue?

Of course, those of you who read this blog will know that I do love continuous running and I’m not about to give up on it completely. I’m still going to work on my 5K time in my midweek runs by running without walk breaks, but I’m not going to push myself to run more than that for the time being – it’s just too much if I’m going to get to where I need to be by April without picking up another injury.

2014-12-14_SummarySo, this morning, instead of trying to push for the 7K I had originally planned, I decided to just get a continuous 5K in. No walk breaks, no worrying about pace, just a nice easy run. And it felt great!

Hopefully, this will mean that I have the energy levels that I need for one or maybe two more 5Ks mid-week. I’m making my first attempt at a half-marathon using run-walk-run when I do the Virtual Jeff Galloway 13.1 next weekend, so this should be a good test to see if the plan works or not.

How’s your running going? Are you using a training plan or do you prefer to run according to how you feel? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “It’s Time For A Training Plan”

  1. Keith says :

    It’s sensible to do what you think is right and if thats run walk then that’s ideal for you.

    Glad to hear you have made a decision and a plan – best of luck with your progress going forward.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Keith. It takes me a good couple of days to recover after long runs so there was no way I could keep doing both and it was starting to get to me a bit. Now that the decision is made though, it’s all starting to look much more achievable. 🙂

  2. artisticsharon says :

    Sounds like a good plan Kirsten. I pretty much have moved to run-walk-run permanently, but I’ve been trying to expand the running sections – aiming for 5K sounds like a good idea. I signed up for a 4 miler on Superbowl Sunday (Feb 1st), hopefully I can reach that goal by then.

    Good luck with the Jeff Galloway Virtual Half next weekend!!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. The weird thing about run-walk is that the times seem to come out about the same as with continuous running – I guess it’s because the walk break makes it easier to run faster. 🙂
      That’s great you’ve signed up for another race. I’m sure you’ll be ready for it by February. Does that mean you don’t get to watch the Superbowl though?

  3. WalkToRio says :

    Once you feel comfy a plan is the way to go.
    I personally need a plan, can’t train blind, even when I’m just doing it for fun I like to see what I’ll do next week, even if it means I’ll go out 2-3 days for 10km.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

