Brighton Santa Dash 2014

Brighton Santa Dash 2014Today was my favourite racing event of the year – The Brighton Santa Dash! Apart from the fact that you get to dress up and jog along Hove seafront with 500 or so runners dressed as Santa, the reason that I love this race is that it marks the first anniversary of my first ever 5K race.

The weather was uncharacteristically calm and sunny for this time of year, but there was still a bit of a chill in the air when I met up with my friends at the start line. Luckily the Santa suits kept us warm as we waited for the start.

We set off a little after 10:30, along Hove seafront, and settled into a nice pace for the first kilometre or so. I was running with three work colleagues, which was nice as I usually run on my own.

As we approached the second kilometre, one of my colleagues started to run on ahead, while the other two decided to take a walk break. I was feeling pretty good, if a bit hot in the old Santa suit, so I decided to ditch my hat and see if I could catch up with our leader.

I managed to catch him at around 3 kilometres but then decided to take a walk break myself. Really, I should have ditched my Santa jacket but that would have felt wrong somehow, so I decided just to keep going and enjoy myself, taking walk breaks as and when I felt like it.

I eventually crossed the finish line in 32:19, which is almost a minute faster than last year, so I was happy with that. I met up with my colleague at the finish line and waited to cheer the other two home a few minutes later as they sprinted across the finish line together.

It was really nice running with some friends for a change and even better to enjoy a celebratory coffee and bacon sandwich at the end.

Have you taken part in a festive fun run this year? Do you run on your own or with other people? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

This post is part of the Virtual Running UK blog hop. Click here to sign up and join the fun!

Circle Hop

 

 

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “Brighton Santa Dash 2014”

  1. Kevin says :

    Our Santa run is coming up in a few hours. It should be fun but it will be very icy today

  2. Sam says :

    Glad you had a nice day for it!

  3. redfacedbutrunderful says :

    Well done on your run! Good time too 🙂 was it a good run to do? Saw one in Cardiff last weekend & watching 1,000 Santas running is definitely a funny sight!

  4. artisticsharon says :

    Congrats on the Santa run and a faster time than last year!!

  5. Kerrie says :

    Eee I remember your first santa run race recap from last year! Glad you had a good race. It was my last one of 2014! About 200 Santa’s though so a bit of a smaller one.

    • theblogrunner says :

      It’s kind of scary to think that was a year ago! Not sure if we had as many as 500 either in the end – ours is still quite small compared to what you see in bigger cities, but I kind of like that. :-).

  6. runningprincess78 says :

    Santa runs are great fun! My husband and I have actually done 2 this year – our local one and the one in Glasgow. We had a great time at both 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      I’d love to do the Glasgow one. I remember talking to my brother a couple of years ago (before my running days) and he said, “You’ll never guess what just happened. I was walking down Sauchiehall Street and suddenly there were hundred of Santas running towards me!” Guess we now know what that was all about! 😉

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

