Another Long Run

2014-12-07_OverviewWith only a few weeks left to complete the Virtual Jeff Galloway 13.1 by the end of the year, I really needed to get a long run in this morning. So, at around 8:00 am, I headed for the seafront for a nice slow 19K.

I was expecting it to be cold and windy (which it was) so I took a pair of gloves with me to stop my hands from freezing off. Unfortunately the only gloves I have are the fleece type, which were a bit too warm once I got going. I tried taking them off during my walk breaks but they got pretty sweaty and were difficult to put back on again, so in the end I just carried them. Note to self: buy some gloves for running!

The run itself was pretty good. I was aiming for 19K using a 3:1 run:walk ratio and decided to start off with the wind behind me. Usually I do it the other way round, to get a helping hand from the tailwind on the way back, but I felt I needed to push myself a bit more this time.

So, I headed East along the seafront, through Brighton Marina and the undercliff path towards Saltdean. Despite the chalk surface on the undercliff path, I love running this route and, judging by the smiles and ‘good mornings’ from the other runners, cyclists and dog walkers I encountered on the way, I’m not the only one.

At my 10K turning point, however, I discovered that the headwind was much stronger than I had anticipated. That’s the problem with running on that path – you’re right on the sea and there’s absolutely no protection from the elements!

Still, I needed this to get my head back into training mode. Recently, I haven’t really been pushing myself hard enough and it has been too easy to say ‘that will do’ when I feel like I’ve had enough; but as I was 10K from home, that wasn’t really an option.

So, I pushed on against the headwind, sticking to the 3:1 ratio that I’ve been using and tried to stay relaxed. And, funnily enough, I actually enjoyed it!

It took 2 hours 17 minutes to complete the distance and my legs were pretty much done by the end of it, but apart from that, it felt really good.

I plan to do the Virtual Jeff Galloway 13.1 in two weeks time to give myself a benchmark for the Brighton Half Marathon in February. Ideally, I’d like to complete this one in under 2 hours 30 minutes, as the only other time I completed the distance was back in April with a time of 2:33:36. It will be interesting to see what difference (if any) it makes using run-walk-run before making a final decision on what strategy to use for February’s race.

How’s your training going? Do you have any more races before the end of the year? Have you taken part in a virtual race? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

This post is part of the Virtual Running UK Blog Hop. To join the fun and meet new running bloggers, click here.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Another Long Run”

  1. diawalker says :

    You’ve got this and you’ll do GREAT!!!

  2. Kerrie says :

    Wow check you out! 🙂 happy to see you get these miles done! A little jealous like 😉 hope the virtual race goes okay, I might look into these 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

