Running In The Dark

Despite having had most of the week off work, when I had the freedom to run at any time of the day I wanted to, I seem to have ended up doing all of my runs in the evening. This is a bit strange for me as I usually prefer to run first thing in the morning, but for some reason I just didn’t feel like it until it started to get dark outside.

Thinking about it though, this isn’t such a bad thing. Being in the habit of only running on Saturday and Sunday mornings was making it hard for me to find the motivation to run in the evening when it’s cold, dark and usually either rainy, windy or both; but now that I’m getting into the swing of it, it’s not so bad and I’m starting to feel like I’m ready to up my running to three times a week again.

This evening’s run also helped in that respect. I didn’t run on Saturday so I wanted to make sure I got 5K in at some point today. I’ve been struggling with running without walk breaks since I started training again, but have managed it a couple of times in the last few weeks so I wanted to build up consistency by getting a few continuous 5Ks in.

At this stage, pace doesn’t really matter, so I set off nice and slowly, running by feel and only looking at my watch occasionally to check on the distance I had covered. I was feeling pretty relaxed and the weather was pretty good too – a bit warmer than I had thought it would be, but with a nice cold breeze to keep things comfortable.

The way I had planned my route, I would run East along the promenade for just over a kilometre and then turn back, run past my starting point until I had reached about 3.6 and then turn around again and run back to where I had started to complete my 5K. I like to run like that, rather than just out and back, because it means I have to do the maths in my head while I’m running to figure out when to turn around, which gives my brain something to focus on.

However, when I reached 3.6K, my pace had picked up a bit and I didn’t want to slow and turn back round. So I decided to just keep going and turn back at the Lagoon, which is at the end of the promenade. I wasn’t sure that I would be able to run all the way back to the starting point but I didn’t really mind either way. All I knew was that I was feeling good and I didn’t really mind as long as I got the 5K done.

2014-11-30_Map

At about 4.5K though, I started to feel a sharp pain in my right shoulder. I couldn’t really understand it as I was still feeling quite relaxed, but I gave my arms a bit of a shake to try to loosen it up and tried to find something else to focus on. This seemed to do the trick and before I knew it I was back where I started, having completed just over 6K without stopping for a walk break.

I’m not sure if it’s the cooler temperatures or the fact that I’ve been taking it easy and eating well throughout the day, but running in the evening this week seems to have given me a much needed confidence boost for these continuous runs. So, starting from next week, I plan to get at least one mid-week evening run in so that I can start working on my speed. After all, I’ve got a very important Santa Dash to run in a couple of weeks and I don’t want to mess that one up!

How are you getting on with your evening runs? Do you find you run better in the evening or first thing in the morning? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Running In The Dark”

  1. CeeJayKay says :

    Wow! That’s kewl! I was dreading winter and the dark… But somehow I have embraced it and LOVE it now! Maybe it’s the sparkly light thingys my husband bought for me… I’m a sucker for fairy lights ha ha! Well done sounds like you have this ‘in the bag’!!!!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! Thanks. Running at night isn’t so bad, and I have my big red face to illuminate the way – seriously, Rudolph’s nose is nothing compared to my red cheeks after a couple of kilometres in the cold. 😉

  2. @ScorpioOnSUP says :

    I usually end up running in the evening as well after work, but am trying to change that… Since all the races are technically taking place in the early morning anyway… Becoming a morning person is just taking a bit longer… The more I read the more I agree that running first thing in the morning would give you more energy for the day as well…

    • theblogrunner says :

      Morning running is definitely a good idea for getting ready for a race. I’m not so sure about the energy thing though as I usually have a nap afterwards, but maybe that’s just a weekend thing. 😉

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

