A Good Call

When I looked out the window this morning at the cold wind and drizzly rain, the last thing I wanted to do was go for the 16K run-walk-run that I had scheduled for myself. It wasn’t so much the thought of running in the miserable weather, but the fact that I would be out there for a couple of hours and would likely feel like crap afterwards. But what was it I said a couple of weeks ago? No excuses, right?

Ok, so I had to go for a run, but maybe I could come up with a compromise and just do a shorter run today. I’ve got most of next week off work so I could easily get my long run in mid-week. It wouldn’t mess up my long term schedule and might actually be better as I could have a rest day before and after the long run.

So, before I could talk myself out of it, I got dressed, got out the door and headed for the seafront for a quick 5K. I decided it was going to be quick because the faster I ran, the sooner I could get back indoors to my nice warm dry flat – that’s what I call winter running motivation!

The wind wasn’t too bad this morning, except that it was coming from the North. This meant I wouldn’t be able to take advantage of a tailwind and, more annoying than that, the rain was constantly in my face and I kept having to wipe my glasses.

I set off at a decent pace and was running negative splits until the fourth kilometre, when I decided to take a bit of a walk break. It was just a short break, less than a minute, so it didn’t pull my pace down too much and I still managed to get a decent enough time of 31:53 (6:22 mins per kilometre), which is faster than I have run since July, even on shorter distances.

2014-11-23_Splits

Walk break aside, I’m pretty pleased with the run and glad I made the call to postpone the long run. It’s still a far cry from a Sub 30 5K, but at least I’m heading in the right direction and getting closer to where I was before.

How’s your training going? Have you had to adjust your schedule because of the weather? How do you motivate yourself to get out and run on those days when you really don’t feel like it. Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “A Good Call”

  1. Kevin says :

    Good on you for getting out there. Not every run is the perfect run with the perfect weather but it all adds up to awesomeness

  2. Alli C. - Snacks Sneakers Suitcases says :

    Compromising for a short run is better than not running at all!!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

