Back To Continuous Running

Circle HopUsually on a Saturday morning I’m pretty keen to get out the door and get my run in, but this morning I just wasn’t feeling it. However, as Saturday is now VRUK Blog Hop Day, I decided to spend the day getting my head together and eating well so that I could run this evening and get a blog post in for this week’s blog hop. And I was so glad that I did.

It has taken me a while to get back into a regular running routine and to be able to run without taking walk breaks, but this evening I managed to run my first non-stopΒ 5K in months! It wasn’t particularly fast and I’m still a long way from my Sub 30 5K goal, but that didn’t matter. The important thing was to get the distance in.

Once I had completed the 5K, I was still feeling pretty good so I decided to continue back to my starting point, which would take me up to a bit over 6K. Of course, I had to take a short walk break to get that far, but I still did it and it felt really good.

2014-11-22_Overview

As far as run-walk-run is concerned, I’m still going to use the 3:1 ratio for my long Sunday runs as part of my marathon training, but in between I’m hoping to gradually build up my continuous running in the hope that I might be able to run the distance for February’s half-marathon.

I’m also thinking of taking part in the Virtual Jeff Galloway 3.1 in December. According to my training plan, I should be able to complete a half-marathon run-walk-run by the end of the year, so it would be a good benchmark to start from as well as a great opportunity to earn some bling!

How’s your training going? What do you think of run-walk-run? Have you taken part in any virtual races recently? Please share your thoughts in the comments and pop over to Virtual Running UK if you fancy signing up for a weekly running blog hop.

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Back To Continuous Running”

  1. fisefton says :

    Way to go on the continuous 5k run. I don’t think I’ve done a continuous 5k since August when I did a parkrun without my son. All my other 5k, or longer runs are with him.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Fiona. It did feel good to be able to do that, but I don’t really mind walk breaks too much these days. I think it’s great that you and your son run together. The way you two are going, I’ll bet it won’t be long before he has you running non-stop. πŸ™‚

  2. diawalker says :

    Well done on going past your goal. I’m thinking of doing the Galloway virtual 5K as well! Good luck I’m sure you’ll do great!

  3. Lisa says :

    Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog! I have a mixed relationship with run-walks– if I set out, telling myself that that’s what I’m going to do, I never put enough effort in to really continue developing my running! I’ve instead developed a strategy where I aim to do as much of the run as I can, and when I stop for my first walk, I turn off my watch- the rest doesn’t count. This works to get me to run more on the first time because I hate the feeling that some of the effort I’ve put in isn’t being recorded or measured…

  4. essay on crime And punishment in suburbia says :

    Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m havijg a tough time
    deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is becaus your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something competely unique.
    P.S My apologies for being off-topic butt I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

