10K Run-Walk-Run

As I didn’t run at all last weekend (naughty, I know), my main objective for today was to catch up on my distance progression in my long slow run. Ideally, I should have been doing 10K, but as my longest run in recent weeks was only 7K, I told myself that as long as I completed 8.5K I would be happy enough – which, of course, was a lie, but whatever gets you out the door, right?

I headed for the seafront at around 8:00 am and was relived that the weather had calmed down a lot since yesterday. No rain, no wind, just a nice cool temperature and a little bit of sunshine peeking through the clouds.

As this was to be a long run, I used the 3:1 run/walk ratio that I have been using for the last few weeks and reminded myself that, even though the walk breaks make it easier to run faster, I would have to take it easy if I wanted to get past 8.5K. That, of course, wasn’t easy as I was feeling pretty good and really just wanted to run at whatever pace felt comfortable, but I tried to rein it in as much as I could.

After the first few kilometres, instead of getting tired and wanting to give up, I actually found myself getting faster. The three minute running segments, which had me checking my watch at least onceΒ a minute during the first half of the run, seemed to speed up towards the end, and before I knew it I was done. 10K in 1:06:21, which is just over a minute short of my 10K PB. Not bad for my first 10K since July and my first ever 10K using run-walk-run.

2014-11-09_Graph

I also downloaded the Runzi app to track my cadence, which probably wasn’t a great idea as cadence decreases during walk breaks. However, I was encouraged to see that it recorded my average cadence for the run as 152 steps per minute. Again, not bad considering there was a bit of walking in there, so it will be interesting to see what it comes out with when I use it for my next continuous run.

How’s your training going? Do you track your cadence as well as your distance and pace? What tools, techniques or apps do you use to help improve your running form? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

16 responses to “10K Run-Walk-Run”

  1. joshdnyc says :

    Wow, sounds like we just had similar experiences re cold, wind & waiting on satellite reception. I imagine we are not alone πŸ™‚ So cool that you pushed on and finished. Keep it up! I started running with the walk/run method and it really got me going.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Josh. I only went back to it as I was recovering from injury and wanted to get some decent runs in, but I’m surprised to find that using these ratios doesn’t seem to be making me that much slower than before. I’m still hoping to run the half-marathon without walk breaks, but might use run-walk-run for the full marathon – still not quite decided on that one though. πŸ™‚

  2. runningprincess78 says :

    Sounds like you’re taking a really sensible approach. I’ve been working on cadence drills recently too. Like you, I’m now finding that my legs want to move a bit quicker than my fitness levels are ready for after an injury break, but I know it will come.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you. It’s nice to be able to get some longer runs in now, but without putting too much pressure on the old injury. You’re right though, it will come and we will get there. πŸ™‚

    • joshdnyc says :

      I use a metronome app on my iphone to do cadence drills. It worked wonders. I was down at about 159 and all over the place. After a few weeks of running listening to a metronome at increasingly higher beats, I was up to about 170.

      • runningprincess78 says :

        I’m using a metronome app too. 1 minute drills set at 172 (I usually run around 160-162) to improve my form. Early days but I’m already noticing the difference. Glad to hear it’s working for others too.

      • theblogrunner says :

        Metronome app sounds like a good idea, although used Runzi again today for a continuous run and it was much better! πŸ™‚

      • joshdnyc says :

        Oh I don’t know what Runzi is. Will check it out!

      • theblogrunner says :

        It’s just a free app to record cadence, impact, pace and distance, although I think the paid version has a few more features. Not sure how good it is generally as I only got it as a free tool to calculate cadence, but it seems ok.

  3. tamsynsmith says :

    I use a Garmin foot pod to track my cadence. My running coach also go the group to use a metronome app or mini ‘clickers’ that he got from Newton. Fortunately my cadence is consistently over 180, so I just need to work on my stride length.

    • theblogrunner says :

      I used the Runzi app today and it came out at 173 on average for a continuous run, but I think the metronome sounds like a good idea to work on improvement. Now, stride length… well, that’s a whole other story! πŸ˜‰

  4. osarah26 says :

    I’ve been doing walk/run for a bit with an app called Run Now – my aunt and I used it during our last 5K and I ran a personal best without tiring too much. I took a break from running for a few weeks while my husband and I bought and moved into a house so the walk/run is really great to ease back into running without feeling too much pressure.

    • theblogrunner says :

      That’s great you got a new PB using walk/run – definitely helps up the distance without killing the pace or feeling over-exhausted by the end of it! I’m definitely enjoying it as a way of getting back. πŸ™‚

  5. readysteadyrun says :

    I have never tried run walk strategy I tend to either run or not bother (I know i’m a sinner) but I may have to give run walk ago next time i’m finding it a struggle.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! Yes, I’m a bit like that at heart, but unfortunately at the moment that would mean ‘not bother’ for me; and although I am enjoying run-walk-run, I can’t wait to get back to running real distances continuously again. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

