Stepping Up And Making Plans

Ever since I started running last year, my goal has been to run a marathon. However, not wanting to rush things, I thought it best to build up slowly, starting with some 5K and 10K races this year and a couple of half-marathons next year, before doing the Brighton Marathon in 2016.

So far, I have managed to resist the temptation to sign up for the marathon, which isn’t easy when so many of may friends are regular Brighton Marathoners. But I’ve just about managed to convince myself that running a marathon without at least a couple of half marathons under my belt would be a bit premature to say the least.

And then this happened…

Brighton Marathon

That’s right. The good folks at Brighton Marathon have decided to re-open general entries for one day only. Why they decided to do this, I have no idea. But they did. And I signed up.

Well, ok, I haven’t committed to it fully yet. It’s all a bit secretive the way they are doing it. First, you have to register your interest before the end of the month. Then, at some point in November, they will send you an email announcing the special registration date. They say this will happen 48 hours before registration opens and that you have to be quick off the mark as the registration window will only be open for a maximum of 24 hours.

So, this means that now that I have registered my interest, I’m not only checking my email religiously in case the announcement comes early, but I’m also trying to figure out how the heck I’m going to get myself ready to run the Brighton Marathon in April while training for the Half Marathon in February!

In theory, this should be totally doable, but with my recent injury problems I also need to be careful not to try to do too much too soon. So, I guess it’s back to the drawing board for me as I re-plan my recovery and get myself ready for some serious training this winter.

How’s your training going? Have you got any races coming up in the next few months or are you starting to plan for next year? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Stepping Up And Making Plans”

  1. willbfit says :

    They say everything happens for a reason, so it’s probably a good thing registration opened up again. How exciting! Can’t wait to hear all about your training, and the races. Just have fun, and enjoy yourself. I’m sure you’ll rock both races!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you! 🙂
      I’m so excited and I haven’t even got my place yet, but whether I get in or not, just the thought of doing the marathon has given me a much needed boost.

  2. CeeJayKay says :

    🙂 OMG you sound like me… i started C25K in July and i too am browsing half marathons… 4 months down the line… SO GOOD ON YOU!!!! go for it! Subscribing to your blog now and cant wait to see the updates! x

  3. osarah26 says :

    Whew! Way to set a goal for yourself! Hope you’re training is going well & the injury doesn’t bother you!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sarah. I’m still taking it fairly easy as far as running is concerned but this has motivated me to start doing some exercises to get the injury sorted… fingers crossed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

