Jeff Galloway Run-Walk-Run

After just a couple of runs last week, the old injury seems to rearing it’s ugly head again. Perhaps it’s just the cold damp weather affecting my joints but, not wanting to take any chances, I decided to play it safe and bow out of my mid-week and Saturday morning training sessions.

And then I had an idea…

I’ve been reading up a bit on the Jeff Galloway Run-Walk-Run training method for a while now and, much as I love continuous running, I realise that it probably isn’t helping with my joint pain at the moment as I try to up my training distance. So, rather than sit around for another month or so waiting for things to ease up, I decided to try to keep things moving (but with less stress on the joints) by having a go at Run-Walk-Run.

The idea is to use a short run-walk ratio in order to reduce fatigue, put less pressure on the joints and promote quicker recovery. It is even argued that by reducing your running time, you can actually complete your distance in less time than if you ran the whole way!

While I wasn’t entirely convinced that I could improve my overall times using Run-Walk-Run, I figured that there was no harm in having a go. If nothing else, at least I would get a run in.

So, at 8:30 am, fuelled by a couple of mugs of coffee and a large bowl of porridge, I headed for the seafront for my Sunday morning run.

As my current goal is to run 5K in under 30 minutes, I used the 10 minute mile ratio of 3:1 recommended on Jeff Galloway’s website – that’s 3 minutes of running followed by 1 minute of walking.

2014-10-12_Graph

Of course, with this amount of walking I would have to pick up my pace on the running sections if I was to get anywhere near my goal. But with only having to run for 3 minutes between walk breaks, it seemed do-able. And that, after all, is the idea behind the Run-Walk-Run method.

To be honest though, it wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be. After the 3rd kilometre I was beginning to struggle, so I decided to complete 4K and call it a day.

When I got home and uploaded my data, I was quite surprised to see that even though this was the furthest I had run since returning to training a couple of weeks ago, my pace was still improving. Ok, so perhaps it would have improved anyway, but with my dodgy ankle/achilles, I doubt I would have risked attempting to run the whole thing.

As I said before, I’m not entirely convinced that I want to go down the Run-Walk-Run route as a long term strategy, but for now at least, if it means I can get a run in, then I’ll take it.

How’s your training going? Have you used Jeff Galloway’s Run-Walk-Run method? How do you find it affects your overall time? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Jeff Galloway Run-Walk-Run”

  1. RunningHeartless says :

    C25K (couch to 5k), which is what I am using to train as a newbie, uses a similar method. You start out walking longer than you run, then running & walking equal distances, then running twice as long as you walk, etc gradually increasing the runs while decreasing the walks until you are not walking at all.
    I’ve wondered if the program could be adapted in a way to improve pace/completion times. It sounds like that is what Galloway’s program does. I will have to look into it.

  2. shazruns says :

    If the Run/walk works stick with it, the continuous running will come when it’s ready

  3. fitfor365 says :

    I’ve used the run/walk method a few times. It does work and its something I’m going to make more use of in the future. I wrote a post about the galloway method last year, it certainly got people talking. http://www.fit4365.com/2013/08/run-with-an-idea-4-real-runners-dont-walk/

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you and thanks for the link. I just read your post (and some of the comments) and it makes some very encouraging points. πŸ™‚
      I love to run without walk breaks but right now my body just can’t take it, so it’s run-walk-run or nothing – and ‘nothing’ is no longer an option. I may even try run-walk-run for my half marathon in February, but we’ll see how it goes.
      Cheers! πŸ™‚

  4. The Tri Road says :

    I had never heard of this until recently and now it seems to be popping up all over the blogosphere and my Facebook feed. Good luck with it and I hope you have a speedy recovery.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

