A Jog In The Park

Now that I’m getting back to running again, I’m starting to think about how to build up my training program without making my usual mistake of trying to do too much too soon. While a lot of the beginner training programs that I have adapted in the past suggest three to four days of running per week with other workouts in between, I am beginning to realise that this just doesn’t work for me. Not for a sustained period of time anyway.

Looking back at my past training, I seem to do best when I only run three times a week, and then alternate between two and three as the distance starts to build up. Anything more than that, and I generally end up being too tired to train, get myself injured, or both.

So, I have made a decision to run no more than three times each week for the next eight weeks. I don’t have a training plan as such, but aim to run twice at the weekend and once mid-week as I get myself back to being able to run 10K without too much discomfort. And if I don’t feel like running twice at the weekend, then I should be able to fit in two mid-week runs instead without any problems.

In terms of specific workouts, I’m going to see how it goes. Ideally, I’d like to step it up a bit each week and aim to increase each run by 0.25 or 0.5 kilometres, but I’m not going to push it. Not yet. Not until I’m back to into the swing of it anyway.

With this in mind, I headed out to the park this morning for a nice easy walk/run/jog. The temperature has dropped quite a bit and, as I made may way across the railway bridge and up Hove Park, I began to wonder if I should have worn long sleeves instead of my usual running t-shirt. But I soon warmed up once I got moving.

I was feeling pretty good on the whole so I decided to do a couple of full laps of the park, taking in the steeper incline and only walking on the flat or downhill sections. As expected though, I was starting to feel pretty tired around the 3K mark. I thought about stopping at 3.5K, like yesterday, but then realised that if I completed the second lap in full, I would be at about 3.75K. So that’s what I did. And it felt good!

When I got home, I was surprised to see that, even with the increased distance and the walk breaks, my average pace was looking pretty good. Not that I’m worrying about pace right now, but I managed an average of 6:35 minutes per kilometre, which is my fastest pace since I started running again last Sunday.

2014-10-05_Graphs

How’s your training going? Do you use an on-line training plan? How do you adapt your training plan to suit your own needs and requirements? Please share your thought in the comments.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “A Jog In The Park”

  1. jamhunt says :

    Me and You both!!!
    We seem to be in the exact same spot you and I.
    Onwards and Upwards though!
    Still running 😀

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

