Running After Rest Days

2014-10-04_SummaryAfter running on Monday, I was really keen to get back out again as soon as possible. However, I’d forgotten how tired I can get after training and that I need to focus a bit more on what I eat before a run, so I decided to hold off until the weekend before going for another run. And I’m glad that I did.

When I woke up this morning, I still wasn’t sure if I would go out but after a couple of cups of coffee and a bowl of porridge I decided that there was no harm in trying. I’d had plenty of rest and I’d been eating better so the least I could do was give it a go.

It was still early and had only just started getting light outside so I wasn’t too surprised by the slight chill.There was a good strong breeze and I could feel the rain in the air, which makes pretty perfect running conditions for me.

As I walked down to the seafront, I noticed a couple of kites in the sky above the beach. It’s always nice to see kite surfers out doing their thing first thing in the morning, but I did start to wonder if it might be a sign that it would be a bit too windy for running along the seafront.

Luckily though, the wind was coming from the south more than anything else, so it was easy enough to run along the promenade.

I knew that I probably wouldn’t be able to do much over 3 kilometres, so I decided just to run down to the West Pier and then back again, with some walk breaks as and when I felt like it. To my surprise, I didn’t take too many walk breaks this time. In fact, I managed to run the first two kilometres without stopping at all!

At the third kilometre, I was back to my starting point but I still felt pretty good, so I decided to keep going and run part of the way home. I had to stop and walk again, partly to cross the road but mostly because I was getting tired, but managed to complete 3.5 kilometres.

That’s half a kilometre up from Monday’s run and with fewer walk breaks, so I guess it goes to show that rest days really do make a difference!

How’s your training going? How do you feel about taking rest days? Do you get enough rest between training sessions? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Running After Rest Days”

  1. barefoottc says :

    Thanks for your post and questions! Training is good! As for rest days I firmly believe they are as essential as run days, so keep some of them every week! My ‘training sessions’ tend to be during commutes to and from work, so I do what I feel able to! Early morning commute = get to work on time goal, getting home = distance increase/get home ASAP/sprint efforts! Long runs at winds when training for longer distance races, or 5k parkruns when I’m not! Congrats on doing ur first 2k without a walk break, it always motivates when you see ur own progress, keep it up!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you. 🙂
      Not really my first 2K without walk breaks though; just returning from injury and taking it slowly, but it still feels good to be getting back to it.
      I haven’t done parkrun for a few months now, but find that it’s a good motivator and helps to establish a regular routine regardless of how the rest of the week has gone, so I’m looking forward to getting back to that too.
      Hope you’re having a good weekend. 🙂

  2. WalkToRio says :

    That’s the way to come back, steady and easy.
    I usually take 1 day off, unless I’m feeling shattered than I take one of the easy days off too.
    Have a nice Sunday!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

