A Quick Update

I just realised that it has been six weeks since I last ran (or posted), so I thought I’d better explain myself…

Ever since I started running last year, I’ve had a bit of a niggle in the ankle/achilles area. It’s nothing major and I usually just wear a support when it starts to annoy me, but on my last run it started to become pretty painful so I decided to take a proper break and let it sort itself out.

Six weeks on, it’s still not great. I can walk on it without any problems but there’s a definite weakness there – stiffness in the morning when I wake up andย sometimes it’s tender to touch. Tempting as it is to just ignore it and go for a run, I know that’s not the answer. So, I’m resting. Taking a break. Trying to be patient and let it heal. Annoying, yes, but there you have it.

As a result of all of this, I’ve completely neglected my little blog, which there really isn’t any excuse for. So, today I decided to put things right – to start posting again and catch up with all of my favourite running bloggers.ย ย And, even though I’m not running, it feels great to be back!

How’s your training going? How was your summer? Are you still running and blogging and all that good stuff? Please leave a comment to let me know how you’re doing- I’ve missed you!

Tags: ,

19 responses to “A Quick Update”

  1. Leah Hallissey says :

    I’d been wondering where you were! Sorry to hear about your injury, but it sounds like you’re doing the right thing!

    I hadn’t run since the RFL in July until we re-joined the gym this week, but I’m starting to think about races for next year, possibly topping it with the Robin Hood Half Marathon next September ๐Ÿ™‚

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hi Leah. Robin Hood sounds great!
      I don’t have anything lined up until February (Brighton Half) so there’s plenty of time to get back in shape. How’s the gym going? ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Leah Hallissey says :

        It’s going well, thanks. Haven’t been as much as I’d like as we’ve been really busy, but hopefully will get back into it soon.

        I had an intro session the other day and the trainer has got me doing sprint intervals on the treadmill instead of long runs – 400m sprint, 4 minutes walk, 300m faster sprint, 3 minutes walk and so on. Absolutely knackers me out! Hope your run went well this morning!

  2. unsportywomencanrun says :

    Nice to see you again. I hope that niggle heals up. I’ve been plugging away at the running…bit of bronchitis hasn’t been fun though.

  3. artisticsharon says :

    So great to see you back, I was really worried. Sorry your ankle is still bothering you, maybe it’s time to go see a doctor to find out what’s going on in there, lol. I’ve been continuing my HM training-I’m thankful for my running partners, I don’t know if I would be this far without them ๐Ÿ™‚

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hey Sharon. Looks like your training is going really well. My ankle seems to have eased off a bit so heading out for a very short jog this morning to test it out – fingers crossed! x ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Dr. Mom says :

    Have you tried ART? (Active Release Therapy). I hear it’s pretty amazing. Hope you are back to the running soon!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hi. I’ve tried a few different things but rest and plenty of walking seems to have done the trick. The next step is to strengthen it up to prevent it from coming back again. Here’s hoping. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    I was wondering where you were. I feel a little bad, though, Liking a post about your being injured. I was about to write a post about a run myself, just was stalling by reading a few other bloggers’ posts. Hope you’re on the road again soon.

  6. fisefton says :

    Hope your niggle gets better soon. I haven’t done much running apart from parkrun and the York 10K. Hope to rectify that when my son goes back to college in a couple of weeks.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hi Fiona. I’ve really missed parkrun but I’m hoping to get back to it soon.
      I don’t blame you for having a rest after the 10K though. You guys trained hard for that!
      Hope all is well and that Adam is enjoying his college course. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. LeAnn Cady says :

    I’ve been wondering where you were, too? Actually, I’m sure my own followers have been wondering where I’ve been! I feel your pain, having spent several weeks in physical therapy + now chiropractic treatments since my full marathon in June. I’m back + ready to tackle the open road + my blogsite once again. Sometimes, it just doesn’t hurt to take some space + time to breathe + heal up before jumping right back into awesomeness! Can’t wait to read what’s next for you! BTW, I just posted my latest blog on my Ragnar Relay experience. Do you have those where you live, too? ~LeAnn

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hey LeAnn. Good to see you’re back too. I’ve signed up to your Facebook page and am loving your posts – actually, they really helped motivate me to get off my back-side and get out there again. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. osarah26 says :

    Welcome back! We missed you! The end of summer has been so busy for me that I haven’t blogged too much either, but I’m gearing up for a 5K and expecting a great PB – hope your ankle problem resolves soon!

  9. Aaron Johnson says :

    Hi! So sorry to hear your injury! I hope everything will be well with you soon! I have the same problem today. I ran 4 miles last night, after a couple of weeks off and experienced the same pain all day. I am also noticing that when I pull my two middle toes back I can feel the pain as well. Hoping to run again soon!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

