Walk, Don’t Run

2014-07-27I don’t know what the heck I did to my ankle on Thursday, but it’s still not right. I’ve been resting it a lot over the weekend, but after spending most of the morning watching the Commonwealth Games from the comfort of my couch, I decided that I needed to get out and get some kind of exercise.

The pain level is pretty low, but it’s enough to know that running even a short distance would be stupid. That being said, sitting around was only making it feel tight and stiff, so I decided to go out for a brisk walk.

I’ve been introducing walking as part of my training routine for the last week or so and, even though I can still feel a bit of a twinge while I’m walking, I figured that it would be ok if I wore my ankle support. I could easily slow my pace back down and head back home at the first sign of any trouble.

My goal was to walk at a pace of around 10 minutes per kilometre for about an hour, depending on how things went. And, as it turned out, it went pretty well. I managed to cover 7 kilometres in just over 1 hour 10 minutes without any significant discomfort.

I’m not sure when I’ll get back to my running schedule, but hopefully it won’t take too long and, if I can get a few long brisk walks done in the meantime, it shouldn’t have too much impact on the training overall.

Better to ease off now than suffer later, right?

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Walk, Don’t Run”

  1. Keith says :

    It’s best to be sensible and at least this way you can gauge how it’s going as you complete the walks. You’ll be back running in no time.

  2. artisticsharon says :

    Sorry to hear your ankle is bugging you…hopefully its nothing serious and you’ll be back to running in no time πŸ™‚

  3. Dr. Mom says :

    I think I might give walking a try while I rest my knee. Thanks for this post!!

  4. unsportywomencanrun says :

    Look after yourself, hope it gets better soon.

  5. osarah26 says :

    You’re right, better safe than sorry! Hope it’s better soon.

  6. abradypus says :

    Hope your ankle is on the mend – rest is definitely the best option.

  7. artisticsharon says :

    Hi Kirsten, I haven’t seen you post in a little while – I hope everything is ok…

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

