Make It Snappy

SNAPPY-logoTraining has been going pretty well over the last few weeks. I’m picking up the pace again, increasing my distance and am even adding a bit of cross training in the form of brisk walking into the mix. On the whole, things are looking good.

The only problem, however, is that the little twinge that I picked up on Thursday’s run doesn’t seem to be going anywhere. I thought I could get away with it by switching my walking and running days around this weekend, but I can feel it when I walk. It’s nothing serious, but it’s there, niggling away every time I take a step. So, no running (or brisk walking) for me for a few days. Still, it’s no big deal and it does give me some time to work on my website.

For those of you who don’t know, I run a little virtual running website called VirtualRunningUK. Unlike a lot of virtual running and virtual racing websites, it’s not about making money. While we do raise a bit of money for charity by selling medals to those who like collecting bling, there’s no profit in it. And that’s the way I like it.

There are free races, points, prizes and even a little blog hop for those of us who like to blog about our running adventures; but one of the things I like best about it is when these two worlds, The Blog Runner world and the Virtual Running UK world come together to do good things for other people. It doesn’t happen often, but it’s great when it does.

This month, for example, we’re helping a fellow blogger, Fiona Sefton, raise money for her chosen charity, SNAPPY. Fiona and her son will be taking part in the York 10K on 3rd August for this small local charity which provides out of school care for children with disabilities.

It would be great if we could help Fiona and her son achieve their fundraising goal so, if you would like to join a virtual race, earn some bling and support them at the same time, please click here.

Or, if you don’t mind about the bling and just want to donate, you can go directly to Fiona’s fundraising page by clicking here.

Please note, you don’t have to pay to race with Virtual Running UK. Our monthly 5K, 10K and Half Marathon races are free to enter and the fundraiser is completely optional. 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Make It Snappy”

  1. Running Mum says :

    Hi, nice to meet you. I really like your virtual running site and have registered! I hope your ankle is feeling lots better soon.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy the site and that you’ll join in with the blog hop too – I’ve discovered some great running blogs through it.
      Great to meet you too! 🙂

  2. fisefton says :

    I can’t believe it has taken me so long to get on here and read your blog, especially since you emailed me the link!

    Anyway, thank you for the mention of SNAPPY (and my JustGiving page).
    Adam and I finished the York 10K in 1:08:34 😀 Think I will need to enter the Virtual Race for the 10K this month.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

