After The Storm

storm

Max Langran Photography

Last night’s thunder storm was amazing! As well as providing the very talented Mr Max Langran with yet another opportunity for some awesome photography, it also helped to clear the air a bit for this morning’s run.

According to my self-styled training program, the brief for today’s run was to build on last Saturday’s session, running for 55 minutes (instead of 45) at a pace of 6:45 – 7:00 minutes per kilometre. At this stage of the training, the main objective is to work on my aerobic endurance so that I can keep running for longer, which means learning to control my pace.

Despite this morning’s cool damp air, I was feeling a little bit sluggish to start with, making my first kilometre slower than planned at 7:04. I wasn’t too worried about it though and managed to pick up my feet a bit for the second kilometre. Of course, this time, I went too far the other way with a 6:40!

Fortunately, by the time I completed the third kilometre I was starting to get my pacing more under control and, with one or two exceptions, managed to stay within range for the rest of the session.

2014-07-19_Splits

In the end, I completed just over 8 kilometres with an average pace of 6:48, which I am very pleased with considering it that it was only a few weeks ago that I was struggling to complete a simple 5K.

I guess there’s something to be said for this whole pacing thing after all.

How’s your running going? What is the main focus of your training at the moment? Whether you are working on speed, endurance, or just running for the sheer joy of it, please feel free to share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “After The Storm”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    oh wow, what a beautiful picture! I’ll be heading out for my run in about 45 mins and it’s raining at the moment, no thunderstorms thankfully, but it doesn’t look like it’s going to stop before I’m ready to go…so, it’s going to be a wet run. That’s ok, it should help to keep me cool and the temp is around 68.

    Great job on running the longer distance and controlling your pace 🙂

  2. LeAnn Cady says :

    That is a stunning picture, Blog Runner! I LOVE that you post a snapshot of your splits per km. That is my favorite aspect of uploading my own data to Garmin Connect. Keep up the great work! Since my focus for the entire spring was on maintaining a continual pace over distance [as I prepared for my marathon], currently my focus is on cross training to keep my cardio up. I have been in marathon recovery mode and have had to visit a physical therapist twice per week for overuse runner injuries. Might I add that I put on a LOT of miles this spring training for two half marathons + a marathon that took place over the course of three months! I’ll be back at the running thing next week. Wish me luck!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hi LeAnn. Someone posted the picture on Facebook this morning so I just had to borrow it and, hopefully, send a few more people to his website. 🙂
      It’s great to hear that you are on the mend and that your recovery hasn’t stopped you from training. Looking forward to hearing about your running in the coming week. Best of luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

