Too Hot To Run

I haven’t done much running this week and, for once, it’s not due to injury, fatigue or an over ambitious training plan. In fact, the training plan seems to be pretty spot on so far. It’s just that this week other things have got in the way a little bit.

Wednesday was supposed to be my Fartlek day and, in case you haven’t read my blog before, you should know that Fartleks are one of my favourites. Much as I enjoy setting myself specific objectives and pace or distance goals, there’s something about the freedom of running purely by feel, pushing myself as hard as I like, taking breaks when I want and not worrying too much if I change my mind about what I’m going to do half way through. It’s like being a kid again, running for the fun of it. But unfortunately things didn’t quite work out that wayย on Wednesday.

Work is pretty busy at the moment and I had been looking forward to letting off some steam in my evening run. But as well as being the first week of our ‘busy’ season, we were three members of staff down this week, which is a pretty big deal when there are only twelve of us in the office to start with. So, when one of the bosses asked me if I could work late, I couldn’t really say no. As bosses go, they are pretty good to us and in the two and a half years that I have worked for them, they’ve never asked me to stay late so I didn’t mind. I could do my Fartlek session on Thursday instead.

However, Thursday turned out to be the hottest day of the year so far and, to make things worse, instead of cooling down in the evening, the temperature was still rising even after I got home. I wanted to run, but the fact that I was drenched in sweat from my thirty minute walk home was a good enough sign that it was going to be too hot to run. So I had to call it off.

This evening wasn’t much better so I decided early on that I wasn’t going to run. Besides, tomorrow is my longer run and there’s no way I’m doing Fartleks the day before a long run. For me, that would be a recipe for disaster!

However, I couldn’t really justify yet another evening without training, so I decided to go for a brisk walk instead. The plan was to walk for an hour and try to keep my pace at less than 10 minutes per kilometre. That didn’t quite work out either, possibly because of the heat, but judging by the Garmin data, I think the GPS was probably out a little bit too.

Still, the important thing was to get some exercise in without jeopardising tomorrow’s session. Let’s hope the weekend pans out a bit better!

What do you do when life gets in the way of your running? Do you skip your session, reschedule orย do a different type of workout to make up for it? Please share your thoughts and ideas in the comments.

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Too Hot To Run”

  1. unsportywomencanrun says :

    I’m not much into running in the heat either. Good call to go for a brisk walk instead. If I could I’d do more swimming but we don’t have a pool that’s easily accessible out near the farm.

  2. cjcourtney says :

    I usually try to make up for it another way. Hitting the gym, or an at home ass kicking session with Jillian Michaels.

  3. artisticsharon says :

    I can definitely understand what you mean about not running in the hotter weather. Where I live that’s pretty much June-Sept! I’m going to start incorporating walking into my Half training later this month on the cross training days and see how that goes. I’m meeting up with the girls tomorrow for a 5 miler…if the rain storms hold off!

    • theblogrunner says :

      We had a crazy thunder storm last night, so hopefully it will have cleared the air and will make things a bit cooler today. I’d definitely recommend some walking as cross training. Although probably not as strenuous as other forms of cross training, half an hour to an hour at a fairly brisk pace still builds up quite a sweat, especially in these heat. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. LeAnn Cady says :

    Much of the time I know far enough ahead of time that I will be in a situation to “joggle” my schedule around to accommodate my run — whether that means I need to get it done first thing in the morning before a busy day or a bad weather day. I also switch exercise days on occasion, depending on my mood + how I am feeling. At times, I decide to simply get in a maintenance workout, such as a casual stroll. Finally, on the rare occasion I am not “feeling” a run, I give myself a break from it — a total REST day. But, I usually ONLY allow myself one of those, not two days in a row. I’ll have to reconsider the whole Fartlek idea again. Good luck to you!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks LeAnn. I’m slowly learning that I need to be a bit more flexible when it comes to my training, and ‘joggle’ (love that word!) things around rather than just skip the whole session.
      It was good to read on your blog that the cross training seems to be helping you keep on top of your training while you’re recovering from injury. Hope you get running again soon – once you’re properly recovered, of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Girl Runs Wild says :

    I often find that the busier my life gets, the more my runs help me balance myself, so I rarely skip them. However, if it’s just not happening, then I will just let it go. If it’s a key run, such as a speed workout or a long run, I’ll reschedule it, but if it was just an easy run, I don’t worry about it at all. It’s a hobby after all, and it’s supposed to enrich our lives, rather than stress us out more. =)

    • theblogrunner says :

      That’s a great way of looking at it. I don’t usually mind about skipping sessions either, although rescheduling the important runs is probably a good idea. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. osarah26 says :

    Bummer you had to skip your fartlek! I hate it when something gets in the way of a planned run. I used to get really upset if I had to skip a run but now I’m starting to see that I don’t really lose too much by having to skip a day or two. If I’m training and following a plan, I’ll try to pick back up where I left off, but I try not to sweat it too much! Ooh, a bad pun!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! ๐Ÿ˜€
      That’s true. I don’t think missing a run now and then makes a huge difference on the whole. I usually just move on to the next session but this time I wanted to try to make up for it a little bit.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

