Sunday Stroll

This morning I went for a Sunday stroll to introduce some cross training into my training plan and see what kind of impact it would have on my Training Peaks data.

The aim was to walk for one hour at a fairly brisk pace of under 10 minutes per kilometre. This is a bit faster than my normal walking pace and, although not nearly as tiring as running, it did get my heart rate up enough to make it feel like a workout rather than just a long walk.

I managed to keep my pace to an average of 9:47, which was pretty good considering that I had to stop for traffic a couple of times. The roads were still fairly quiet but there was enough activity to make me have to pause a few times. In saying that though, the fact that it started to rain quite heavily towards the end of the walk probably helped me to keep the pace up.

Looking at the Training Peaks data, it seems to suggest that doing this once a week will make the difference that I need to get my general fitness moving in the right direction; and, if it all goes according to plan, hopefully it will help to prepare me for the increase in the number of training days required for half marathon training in the Autumn.

2014-07-13_Chart

Click On The Chart To See A Larger Version

Of course, I still need to make sure that I don’t do so much walking that I’m not able to run the next day, but I don’t think an hour or so on a Sunday morning will interfere too much with the running schedule. Well, we’ll see what happens tomorrow.

How’s your training going? What type of cross training do you do to improve your general fitness? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Sunday Stroll”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    Good to see your plan working out well. You may also want to incorporate a different kind of cardio that doesn’t use the same muscle groups as running – at least that what all the ‘running mags’ say we should do 😉

    • artisticsharon says :

      Disregard what I said above…I just did some “Googling” and found that WALKING is good cross training for runners!

      • theblogrunner says :

        Ha ha! Yup, apparently it is, although I was surprised when I learned that too. I quite like the idea of doing some cycling too though as it gets the heart rate going much more – just need to get myself a bike… 😉

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

