10K At Last!

2014-06-28_10KAt last! Today I finally got myself back up to 10K. Ok, so I took some walk breaks, but I still went the distance, which makes me feel like I’m getting myself back on track.

The surprising thing about this morning’s run though, was that even with the walk breaks, I was pretty much at the same pace overall as I was back in February when I ran in the Chichester Priory 10K. In fact, today I was a whole second faster!

With only one week to go until the Race For Life 10K, I know that I’m not going to run anything close to my PB, but I don’t really mind. I’m gradually learning to accept that progress isn’t always a linear thing. Sometimes we have to go back before we can move forward, and I’m totally fine with that.

I’m not planning on doing any more races for a while after next weekend. Instead, I plan to get back into parkrun and just have some fun with my running without the pressure of race days and training schedules.

Of course, I’ll still be running and blogging as always, but I’d like to try out some different types of workout and justΒ enjoy running for the sake of running. Besides, it’s summer now and I’m just not very good in the heat.

How’s your running going? Do you have any races lined up for the summer months? How do you cope with running in the heat? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , , , ,

20 responses to “10K At Last!”

  1. LeAnn Cady says :

    BlogRunner!!! I know I haven’t been extremely consistent with my blogging this spring — actually, it goes in spurts! But, I wanted YOU to know that I ran my first marathon last Saturday in a sub 5-hour time! That was my ultimate goal for the day, and I met it — slightly injured with IT Band Syndrome in my right knee. Circle back to my blog, “The Day I Ran 26.2!” if you haven’t already, for a recap of my marathon experience. Since then, I’ve signed up for Marathon #2 for October 2014! I am following you, BlogRunner, on your running/blogging journey. I may not always comment, but I’m running alongside of you in spirit. Best of luck on your 10K! You’ve got this! Then, take a well-deserved break. ~LeAnn, Rock Your Brave

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hey LeAnn. I’ve not been blogging or reading as much as I would like to recently and have missed some of your posts. Congratulations on the Marathon! And sub 5 hours too! That’s awesome!!! You must be feeling very proud of yourself, and rightly so. I’ll pop over and get up to date with you soon. Hope you’re resting that knee of yours. πŸ™‚

  2. skylarchastain says :

    You might consider keeping the brief walks within your run since your overall time is still good. That’s Jeff Galloway’s advice, anyway, and it’s worked for me.

    • theblogrunner says :

      I’ve been reading Jeff’s blog recently and he seems to be on to something there. Although I do prefer being able to run non-stop, I might give the walk/run ratios a go when I move up to the half marathon. πŸ™‚

  3. Dr. Mom says :

    Congratulations!!!! Great job!

  4. Katie Bradshaw says :

    “I’m gradually learning to accept that progress isn’t always a linear thing. Sometimes we have to go back before we can move forward, and I’m totally fine with that.” This reminded me of a quote I heard last night at a Chautauqua event – “A setback is a setup for a comeback.”

  5. lawrunner says :

    Great Job! I hope to get there soon. Great to hear that you’ve made it back. Go YOU!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you. I’m not quite back to where I was in April, but it gets easier with each run. I guess the trick is to keep enjoying it and we’ll get there in the end. πŸ™‚

  6. artisticsharon says :

    congrats on getting back to 10K! I’ll be starting my Half Marathon training mid July and I’m a bit nervous. I’ve not run more than 10K and only once at that :-s The good news is I have two running buddies that will be ‘keeping me honest’; and I’ll continue to follow your journey to give me motivation πŸ™‚

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. I guess it’s not long now until your 10K either. My half marathon isn’t until February next year, so I’m looking forward to following your progress and seeing how you and your running buddies get on… although your mere mention of a half marathon is making me want to sign up for one in the autumn! Either way, I’m sure we’ll be keeping each other motivated as always. πŸ™‚

      • artisticsharon says :

        Actually, I’m not doing another 10K – my running buddies wanted to do a 4 miler on July 4th so I’m doing that instead…can’t believe I think 4 miles ‘is easy’!! Ha, a year ago I would’ve turned green just at the thought!!

      • theblogrunner says :

        Ha ha! I know what you mean – even one mile seemed like a marathon to me a year ago. 4 miles for 4th July sounds good though. πŸ™‚

  7. Kerrie says :

    Wow go you! πŸ˜€ Good luck for the Race for Life! We only had the 5k option in our town and it was my first Race for Life. It was brilliant, really enjoyed it! I dislike running in the heat but I keep trying to get out there. I have my first 10k in August. August! :/ I’m not used to the distance – although I’m slowly getting there, and the heat…My last race is in September. Then I think I’m done for the year…I think! πŸ˜‰

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Kerrie. I’ve never done Race for Life before and I’m really hoping it for some cloud and drizzle as this heat isn’t helping things and it’s scheduled for 11 am! Still, it should be fun.
      I don’t envy you running in August, but I guess a couple of months of summer training should get your body used to it by then. After that, Autumn 10Ks will be a breeze for you! πŸ˜‰

      • Kerrie says :

        It was one of those races where there was loads of emotion floating about but at the same time it was great. Hoping the weather stays okay for you! by ‘okay’ some cloud at least then!

      • theblogrunner says :

        Ha ha! Thanks! I’ll be doing my rain dance on Friday evening! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

