Post Run Paddle

It’s finally starting to feel like summer here on the South Coast, so much so that I’m having to make sure that I get out early for my weekend morning runs before it gets too hot.

I had planned to get out before 7:00 am for this morning’s run but after last night’s slightly greasy spag bol, my stomach wasn’t really up for such an early start. Luckily, things settled down by about 8:00 am and I headed for the seafront for a nice easy 7K.

It was already warm down on the seafront and there wasn’t much of a breeze to cool things down, but I was feeling pretty relaxed about it and decided that I would take a walk break if I had to. This is something that I usually avoid but, as I’m really not very good in the heat generally, I realised that it would probably do me more harm than good to push it.

2014-06-22_7KSo, I took some walk breaks: one at 4.9 kilometres, another at 5.4 kilometres and a final one at 6.1 kilometres. Each break was only for about 100 metres, so it didn’t make too much difference to my overall pace. In fact, it probably helped as it meant that I drank more water than I would have done had I kept running.

By the time I finished, however, I had almost run out of water and was feeling pretty hot and sweaty. Normally I have about half a bottle left to drink as I stretch and cool down before heading home, but that wasn’t an option today, so I tried something different. Something that I’ve thought about doing before, but never got around to trying. I went for a paddle in the sea.

I know. It’s obvious, right? A natural ice bath within minutes of finishing a run! They say that it’s supposed to help ease muscles aches and, to be honest, I’ve always been a bit sceptical about that – mostly because I hate the thought of jumping into a bath of ice – but this morning’s post run paddle really seems to have done the trick.

I wasn’t in the water for long, maybe about five minutes or so, and I only went in up to my knees, but the usual aching calves that I experience after a run (even with stretching) are nowhere to be found this morning. In fact, apart from feeling a little bit tired, my legs feel better now than they have done in weeks!

So,ย it looks like running in the heat isn’t so bad after all.

What are your thoughts on ice after a run? Do you take ice baths or do you prefer to just a have a good stretch? Please share your thoughts in the comments?

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Post Run Paddle”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    It sounds like the cold water was just what you needed. After yesterday’s run on the river path we joked about jumping in the water – maybe next time we’ll do it! So glad to hear you’re getting your ‘legs’ back, reading about your running adventures keeps me motivated ๐Ÿ™‚

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! Don’t think you’d get me jumping in the river, although with the temps you’re getting at the moment I’d probably be tempted too… I’d definitely dip a toe in though. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. osarah26 says :

    Sounds like a nice refreshing dip in the sea! I’ve never tried an ice bath – I’m too chicken and it sounds awful! I stick to stretching.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

