Hello Mojo

After last Thursday’s confidence knock, I decided to take a week off from training. Even though there’s only a couple of weeks until my next 10K race and I’m still a long way from getting back up to the distance, it seemed like the best course of action. I mean, the important thing is to be able to take part in the event. It doesn’t matter if I run it all or have to walk some of it; as l long as I get to take part, right?

2014-06-19_6KSo, after a week of rest, recovery and good eating to build my strength back up, I headed out this evening for a nice easy ‘no pressure’ run along the seafront. The aim was to run a minimum of 5K and a maximum of 7K, nice and slowly without any pressure to go fast or far.

As it turned out, this evening’s run went much better than last week’s. Perhaps it was due to the cooler temperature or lack of people on the promenade or just the fact that I’d taken some time to rest, but I managed to complete 6.26 kilometres in 41:23.

The pace wasn’t great, but it was respectable enough for me at 6:37 per kilometre, so I’m happy with that. The main thing was to get running again and to feel good at the end of it. Job done!

I guess that means my mojo is back!

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Hello Mojo”

  1. Shana W. says :

    You are such an inspiration for me. I want to be a runner like you someday soon! I am almost done with my c25k app. After that is finished, I will start training for a 10k. =D

  2. Running Betty says :

    Yay! I’m glad you got your mojo back! Sometimes taking a short break is exactly what is needed for that! It’s easy to start feeling burned out, and nice to get a “fresh start” on training. Awesome run!

  3. artisticsharon says :

    Welcome Back Mojo! I took this week off too and today’s run was so much better. Lesson learned for me…when your body is tired, listen to it. I’m glad you had a good run!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. ‘Listen to your body…’ How many times have I said that to other people and forgotten to do it myself? 😉
      I’m glad your run went well too. 🙂

  4. abradypus says :

    Glad to hear your mojo is back 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

