Bloggy Birthday To Me!

Yesterday was the first anniversary of my blog – a whole year since I made the decision to start running with the C25K program.

In some ways it’s  hard to believe that it has been a whole year already since I started running; yet in other ways it feels like I’ve been running forever. Running has become a big part of my life and has taught me a lot about myself. So, in order to celebrate my bloggy birthday, I thought it would be good to reflect on some of the things that running has taught me over the last twelve months:

1. Listen To Your Body

This is one of the first big lessons that I learned (the hard way) and it is a lesson that I have to remind myself of frequently. No matter what the training programs say, we are all different and some of us need more rest and recovery than others. It’s not a bad thing and it doesn’t mean that those of us who need more recovery time won’t make progress; it just means that in order to make progress and avoid injury, we need more non-running days. I mean, I know I’m much fitter than I was a year ago, but at the age of 40, I’m not going to beat myself up if I need more recovery time than a 20 or 30 year old!

2. Do It Even When Especially When You Don’t Feel Like It

Sometimes, it’s not our bodies that are telling us not to run, but our minds. On days like this, the best thing to do is go out and get a run in. It doesn’t have to be the run you planned. In fact, I find the best way to deal with days like this is to just get out there and see what happens. Run a couple of kilometres to let yourself get back into it and then see how you feel. No pressure, no goals, just run and enjoy it. It’s amazing how many times I’ve done this and found that, after a couple of kilometres, I suddenly feel like doing more. Of course, there are days when I just do a couple and then stop. But it always feels good to know that I’ve done it.

3. Take It One Step At A Time

This one has really changed my outlook, not just on running but on life in general. The C25K program taught me to be patient. Follow the steps and put trust in the process. It’s frustrating at times when the progress feels slow, but if you take it one step at a time, keep putting one foot in front of the other, you will get there. Ironically, since I started running, I have become much more patient, methodical and relaxed about life in general. Running is definitely good for the soul!

4. You Are Capable Than More Than You Think You Are

When I first started running, my only goal was to be able to run for a sustained period of time. 5K seemed like a lot, and it was, but since then I’ve built up my distance to 10K and even managed to run a half-marathon distance with only a couple of walk breaks. My biggest achievement over the last twelve months though, was to walk/jog 100K from London to Brighton, finishing in just over 26 hours. It wasn’t a particularly fast time, but I did it. Who would have thought that was possible a year ago?

5. Your Body Adapts

The human body is an amazing thing. From Day 2 of C25K, I started noticing the difference. It wasn’t a big difference, but throughout the program and in the months that followed, I was continually surprised by just how well the body adapts to exercise. Every week, I ran further, or faster and or kept going for longer. It was a gradual process, but I felt it in almost every run. Yes, some runs are better than others, but the body learns quickly; the trick is to keep the mind on track!

So, that’s it. My first bloggy birthday. Lots of lessons learned and plenty more to come, but it all started with that simple decision to put on my trainers and go for a run – best decision I ever made!

How has running changed your outlook on life? What lessons have you learned along the way? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Bloggy Birthday To Me!”

  1. RubySneakers says :

    Happy bloggy birthday! Some great achievements there, especially for only 12 months (very impressive!). I never ran any real distances as a kid (more of a sprinter) so didn’t think I even had it in me, but I now look forward to it which is surprising.

    I think it may also have something to do with meeting some amazingly supportive fellow runners (and bloggers) along the way. 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hi Ruby. I have found the support and encouragement from the blogging/running community has been one of the main things that has kept me going, and still is.
      I’m following your blog now and looking forward to reading more of your posts. 🙂

  2. runninstermz says :

    happy blogging anniversary! also good to stay motivated, thanks for the words of encouragement!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

