Juneathon Day 12: Where’s My Mojo?

mojoI’m struggling to find my mojo this week. I’m not sure what it is, but something just isn’t right. The legs, the lungs, the mind… it all just feels a bit out of balance at the moment. Β Something is missing, but I’m determined to find it again.

This evening’s run was to be an easy 7K to try to build up my distance again and, while I did manage to cover the whole 7K, it wasn’t easy by any means. It could have been the temperature, maybe I wasn’t hydrated enough or perhaps I should have eaten more before run, but it just didn’t feel right.

I took plenty of water with me, tried changing my route to run in the shade and even had walk breaks (which I hate doing), but my head, my heart or whatever it is that usually pushes me through just wasn’t in it. I don’t know. Perhaps it was just one of those runs that everyone has from time to time.

2014-06-12_7K Overview

On the up-side though, I completed the 7K that I set out to do. It wasn’t fun, and it wasn’t pretty, but the fact that I kept going is something to hold on to.

Tomorrow is another day so hopefully I’ll find my mojo again on my next run.

How do you get yourself through those bad runs? What do you do when you can’t find your mojo? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

15 responses to “Juneathon Day 12: Where’s My Mojo?”

  1. Girl Runs Wild says :

    Well done on completing a tough run! I’m sure that everyone has those days, I certainly have had my fair share. If I have a single bad run, I just don’t worry about it. It happens. I try to stick it out and tell myself it’s good endurance training. I often find that an inexplicable crappy run is followed by an unexpectedly amazing run later on in the week. Running can be weird that way. However, if I struggle on consecutive runs, I just listen to my body and take a rest day afterwards. I usually find that after that, I’m very much ready to get going again. Good luck, and well done again for getting through it! πŸ˜€

  2. thestampedingturtle says :

    I am just starting out after a long period away from exercise, and I am having a very hard time finding my mojo. At least you got out and did it.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you. It’s hard getting back to it sometimes, but the only way to find the mojo is to get back out and see where you dropped it. I’m not sure yet where I dropped mine, but it’s got to be out there somewhere. πŸ˜‰
      Hope yours turns up again soon. πŸ™‚

  3. Reallyarunner says :

    You did well to complete the run you set out to do. That in itself is tough when your hearts not in it. So well done for that. Mojo’s are funny things, like pesky cats, they disappear for days on end have you worried something is wrong then waltz back in like nothing happened.

  4. unsportywomencanrun says :

    All runs can’t be wonderful but all runs help us slowly towards our goals. That’s what I hang on to πŸ™‚

  5. artisticsharon says :

    I’ve had bad runs as well, or at least I call them bad runs – where it takes everything I have just to complete the distance. At those times I give myself credit for doing it and look forward to the next run. I try to focus on what went well instead of what didn’t go so well and hang on to that.

  6. LeAnn Cady says :

    I try to remember that THOSE runs are bound to happen–it is those less-than-spectacular runs we have that make the GOOD runs so well worth all of the hard work we put in! I am SO proud of you, Blog Runner, for getting out there–even when you least felt like it or didn’t feel it was going as planned. That’s more than most can say. Tomorrow is a new day!

  7. PNWRunner says :

    Everyone has their “off” days. In order to get through those off days, I try to change up my music and convince myself that what I am doing is beneficial. It can be tough, but overall in the end I feel better when it is over.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! I definitely feel better once it’s over. πŸ˜€
      Perhaps I should start running with music again – haven’t done that for a while so that might just do the trick. Cheers! πŸ™‚

  8. artisticsharon says :

    I just came across this in an online report from Women’s Running magazine:

    The Race-Recovery Rule

    For each mile that you race, allow one day of recovery before returning to hard training or racing.

    That means no speed workouts or racing for six days after a 10K or 26 days after a marathon. The rule’s originator was the late Jack Foster, the Masters Marathon world record holder (2:11:18) from 1974 to 1990. Foster wrote in his book, Tale of the Ancient Marathoner, “My method is roughly to have a day off racing for every mile I raced.”

    Thought this might help you reconcile the lack of ‘mojo’.

    • theblogrunner says :

      There could be something in that! Perhaps I’m still recovering from last month’s big walk/run?
      Thank you so much for that – makes me feel a lot better about it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

