Juneathon Day 10: Back On The Wagon

It seems that I fell off the Juneathon wagon a little earlier than I’d hoped. Last week’s return to running and the beginnings of a new yoga adventure left me feeling pretty drained by Friday so I decided to take a couple of extra rest days to let my body recover. And it seems to have paid off.

Tonight the training plan called for 5K and Fartlek. I wasn’t sure how much I would be able to do, but I was ready to climb back on the old wagon and give it a go.

The truth is that, much as I like those long slow runs, I kind of miss that feeling of pushing the pace to that trance like state where the only thing that matters is the rhythm of my feet on the pavement and the air pumping through my lungs.

Of course, that didn’t happen. Not tonight anyway. Tonight was more of the same long slow plodding to make sure I got the distance covered, but with a couple of short bursts of speed – not many, but enough to know that I can still pick up the pace.

The legs were still feeling a bit heavy for most of the run, but they are getting better. Hopefully some yoga tomorrow will help to loosen things up and I’ll be ready to take on a bit more distance on Thursday.

Until then, happy Juneathon!

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Juneathon Day 10: Back On The Wagon”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    wow, sorry to hear your legs have not fully recovered. I didn’t realize it would take so long…but what do I know, I’ve never attempted more than 10K!! Hang in there, I’m sure it won’t be long :-)

Leave a Reply

Born to Plod

the (sort of) intrepid adventures of a (sort of) runner

12 Months, 12 Challenges

Fighting Crohn's 1 challenge at a time...

Cramp Is My Style

Beating mental illness and the clock.

Selldwellertse

Life's a climb, but the view is great.

Matthew Hall

A little bit of accountability, a lot of self discovery

Slow and Steady(ish)

From Couch-to-5K to... a marathon?!

Movin' it with Michelle

Running, Recipes, and Real life adventures!

ishouldrun

a running blog for people who like to talk about running!

jogathon

One foot in front of the other

lotsofrunning2015

Welcome to my blog :-) it's all about my wannabee life as a runner..... enjoy!!

Out Running

Just another bloke with just another running blog

Running, Life and Between

Minimally ultra-running.

A Running Battle

...a fifty something woman running to save her life...

Gonna Move Till I Don't Jiggle

Trying to lose weight in my 30s so I'm fit in my 40s

A triathlete's story - Dan Guerrero

The highs (and lows) of my journey to be the next british champion

Angie's Excellent Adventures

One Mom's Journey to Ironman

Dreaming of Running Boston Marathon

Journey to cross the Boston Marathon finish line

Run With Faust

Running, cycling and mountaineering with no colon.

sprinting soul

it's good to be alive

run_konz

“A runner must run with dreams in his heart.” - Emily Zatopek

STAY HEALTHY N FIT 4 YOU

Do it for YOU! - Hoping to inspire you through my fitness journey.

Wanderlust Bridge

A blog about my experiences living and working in Spain and my travels around Europe.

Brighton & Beyond ...

The road to the 2015 Brighton Marathon and whatever comes next .

A Dose of the Great Outdoors

Life: hiking, peak bagging, backpacking, camping and SUPing

Sunshine Travels

Explorations abroad

eatbelieveachieve

Food is fuel, give your body what it needs.

In the Shadow of the Rockies - Calgary Running

Running the trails of Calgary, and beyond

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

