Juneathon Day 6: Routine Stuff

Friday wasn’t the best day. I woke up feeling a bit off balance – literally! I didn’t feel dizzy exactly, but for some reason I kept leaning over to one side when I got out of bed. It only lasted a few minutes, but it was a bit odd – perhaps all that Yoga has stretched me out so much that one leg has become longer than the other! More likely though,  I was just a bit tired.

I didn’t feel too great for most f the day and when I got home I really didn’t have the strength to do anything for Juneathon, so I decided to have a rest day instead. However, that doesn’t mean I didn’t exercise.

A couple of years ago, I changed my job. It’s a long story and I won’t bore you with the details, but one of the things I like about my current job is that I can walk to and from work each day. The distance, door to door is 1.7 miles, which takes me a bit less than 30 minutes to walk. So, Monday to Friday, I generally get at least an hour of exercise each day without even having to think about it.

When I first started doing this my main goal was to save money rather than to get fit, but I soon realised that walking to work was much more fun than catching the bus. Even when it is cold and wet outside, it’s much nicer being out in the fresh air than being packed into cramped, clammy, germ riddled metal box and, with traffic being pretty much nose to tail during rush hour in Brighton, it doesn’t actually take that much longer to get from A to B on foot.

So, while it’s not strictly in the spirit of Juneathon to include my daily foot commute, on days like this it is perhaps worth reminding ourselves of the exercise that we take on a daily basis and the difference that it makes to our general fitness and well being.

Do you walk to work? What exercise do you take as part of your daily routine? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Juneathon Day 6: Routine Stuff”

  1. Shana W. says :

    I am happy for you that you are able to walk to and from work. That is pretty darn awesome!

  2. Katie Bradshaw says :

    Oh, I totally count my commute to work towards Juneathon! (It’s 30 minutes each way on my bike.) I also get a kick out of how shocked (shocked!) people are that I commute round-trip nearly 11 miles each day and (the horror!) even sometimes when it’s rainy out. My last job was only about a half-mile from my home, so I would bike throughout the winter. I had people who were seriously afraid for my health to be out in weather like that. (Ummm . . . there is no bad weather – only bad clothing choices.)

  3. unsportywomencanrun says :

    Walking to work sounds lovely. I live too far away from my work so just not possible but instead choose to park a little way away so I can have a bit of a walk. I hope you’re feeling better.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Feeling much better now, thank you. 🙂
      Parking further away is a great way of doing it. On the rare occasions when I use the bus, I sometimes get off a stop or two early just to get a bit of a walk in. 🙂

  4. shazruns says :

    I walk to work – down the stairs to the lap top! If I did work out of the house I would love to walk, being outdoors is the best

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

