Juneathon Day 5: Every Run Counts

According to my training plan, tonight was to be another nice easy 5K and I was feeling pretty good about it. Despite my legs still feeling a bit heavy, I’m starting to find that my energy levels are getting back to normal again so I headed down to the seafront to reacquaint myself with my favourite 5K route.

2014-06-05_Map

It was a nice evening. Warm but not too hot and there was a nice breeze coming in from the west to give me something to run against on the way out, and a little helping hand to push me along on the way back.

The first couple of kilometres were a bit of a struggle as my legs still aren’t moving as easily as they did before, but once I passed the half-way mark I began to find my stride again. The pace didn’t pick up much, but I could feel my confidence returning as I made my way along the seafront, revisiting familiar landmarks that reminded me of how far I have come over the last year. And it has been almost a full year since I started running. How time flies!

In a way, the last week or so has felt a bit like those early days of C25K. The frustration, the longing and the determination to keep going. Back then, every run was tough, but they all counted. No matter how short or how slow, they all made a difference. Each and every one of them.

So, as I plod along through the next few weeks, trying to regain my running fitness, I suppose I ought to remind myself of how easily the human body adapts. It takes time, but just getting out there and putting one foot in front of the other makes a difference. No matter how slow or how short or how frustrating it feels at times, every run counts.

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Juneathon Day 5: Every Run Counts”

  1. willbfit says :

    Thank you for this post. I really need to hear that last paragraph, because that’s exactly I how I feel now. I just want to run…run like I did last summer. And it’s killing me following this program, and barely finishing more than half a mile each outing. But you are so right…it all counts, and eventually I will get back to where I was. Happy running!!

    • theblogrunner says :

      You will get there. A big part of it is playing these mental games with ourselves to keep us going, but it does all make a difference – happy running to you too! 🙂

  2. Running Betty says :

    Great run! Your last sentence is spot on! I have some bad runs but even on those days I’m so happy I got out there and ran! AND It’s almost friday!! Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

