Juneathon Day 3: Back In Training

Today was the first 5K run of my new training program in preparation for a Race For Life 10K in five weeks time. Although I was really looking forward to getting a decent run in after a month or so of walking, I was a little bit concerned about how I would cope with running again. After my last two recovery runs, I couldn’t help but notice the difference in my running fitness, and it wasn’t good.

However, today was about getting out there again and going the distance. It didn’t matter how slowly I ran or if I had to stop and walk for a few minutes. I just needed to do 5K.

When it comes to running though, even training runs, I really don’t like stopping and starting. I know that there’s nothing wrong with it and that it’s a good way to build up endurance but, even though my legs need it sometimes, my head doesn’t like it. So, in order to give myself permission to stop, I decided to start my run on the streets where I would have to stop for traffic rather than on the promenade where you can pretty much keep running for as long as you like.

I started off at what I thought was a fairly slow pace, but when I checked my Garmin it told me that I was going a bit too fast for an easy run. I tried to slow down a bit and take my time and by the time I reached the seafront, I was doing between 6:30 and 6:40 minutes per kilometre, which is much more in line with my natural 5K pace.

Although I felt pretty relaxed throughout the run and felt much stronger than I had done a few days ago, I wouldn’t say that it was easy. I had to keep telling myself to keep going and focus on my breathing – something that I haven’t had to do on a 5K run for a long time.

Needless to say, when the Garmin beeped at 5K and I saw that my time was only 10 seconds slower than my PB, I was more than pleasantly surprised. Could all that walking really have improved my running after all?

Unfortunately, when I got home and uploaded the data, it turned out that the Garmin had gone a bit wonky and turned what should have been the first 250 metres or so into half a kilometre. It made sense really, as even though I was going a bit faster than I ought to have been to start with, I certainly wasn’t doing the pace that Garmin had said I was.

Still, it’s the first time that the Garmin has messed up like that and I’m pretty certain that I could have done another 250 metres without too much trouble, so it doesn’t really matter. The important thing is that I got a decent run in and that I made a good start to my training.

Do you use a Garmin or other device to log your training and keep track of your pace? How accurate and reliable do you find it? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Juneathon Day 3: Back In Training”

  1. Kerrie says :

    Oohh…either way, that’s pretty good! I have a Garmin, its been great so far (touch wood) its just sometimes its slow at connecting to the satellites.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Yeah, I get that slow connection thing too, but it usually kicks in by the time I’ve done my warm up walk. Hopefully this evening was just a one off. 🙂

  2. Reallyarunner says :

    Well done today! I use a Garmin 110, once or twice it’s gone a bit wonky like yours today but generally it’s reliable and accurate. My husband has one of those new 220 ones and it’s so clever it pre programmes where satellites are for the following week when you connect it to you computer/iPad so it’s ready to go instantly when you go out the door! I borrow it when I can.

    • theblogrunner says :

      I was surprised as it’s generally pretty spot on, so it’s reassuring to hear that others do the same occasionally (but not too much). The 220 sounds great, although a bit out of my price range at the moment so I’ll stick with the 110 for now as long as it behaves itself. 🙂

  3. Uncharted Waters says :

    Well done, My Garmin is pretty good when clear sky but if I’m in woods or trees the pacing can go erratic. I tend to mainly look at kilometer or mile splits and make changes based on these. The pace fluctuation in real time can be difficult to use as a guide and can make you constantly changing your running style. I tend to relax into a comfortable pace and then let the splits guide me.

    • theblogrunner says :

      That sounds like a good way to do it. Being relaxed is so important if you want to get the best out of a run, and too much focus on pace adjustments can really spoil the fun sometimes. 🙂

  4. littletinygem says :

    I’ve been out with my garmin forerunner10 a few times now and echo the slow connection, but only on certain days- Friday, Saturday- connected within 10 seconds; Sunday- took almost half a k! I wonder if satellites have a day off on a sunday too…

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

