Juneathon: Day 2

Normally, the only exercise I do (other than walking to and from work each day) is running. I’ve never been a gym bunny (can’t afford the membership), have no interest in swimming (not very good at it) and while I like the idea of cycling, I don’t own a bike any more. So, when I signed up for Juneathon, I knew that it was going to be a bit of challenge trying to find some kind of exercise to do on my non-running days.

Fortunately though, thanks to the powers of the internet and the wonder of all wonders that is You Tube, I didn’t have to look too far to find some kind of non-running exercise for this evening.

Yoga For Runners

The truth is, I’ve been thinking about doing Yoga for a while now. As a youngster, I used to be pretty flexible and could put my legs around my head and walk on my hands with the best of them; but these days I can barely get close enough to my feet to pop my blisters – a necessary evil for the aspiring ultra-marathoner!

So, as I am having a rest day from running, I decided that now would be a good time to try out some yoga. Apart from the aforementioned foot butchery, I thought that a bit of yoga might help loosen up the old muscles, so when I got home from work this evening, I changed into some comfortable clothes, positioned myself on the rug (I don’t have a yoga mat) and attempted to follow this little video that I found on You Tube.

To be honest, it really wasn’t as easy as it looks and, while I did my best to mimic the various stretches and poses, the only part that I really managed to do properly was the bit at the end where you lie on the floor and breathe.

Still, as with anything, yoga takes a bit of practice, so I’m not going to give up on it just yet. In fact, I plan to repeat this workout on all of my non-running days this week to try to get the hang of it and see if it makes a difference to my general flexibility and ease ofย movement when running.

Are you taking part in Juneathon? Do you practice yoga? Have you tried any new types of exercise to help compliment your running? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Juneathon: Day 2”

  1. Katie Bradshaw says :

    I’ve only ever done wii yoga, but it did seem to help some of my problematic hip / core muscles. I should dust off the old balance board again.

    • theblogrunner says :

      I haven’t touched my Wii Fit in years! To be honest, I’m a bit scared that it will tell me off for not using it in the last thousand days or so. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Katie Bradshaw says :

        I just hopped back on mine this evening. It wasn’t too snarky with me. It was just frustrating that I couldn’t get into the darned “top 10 list” for most of the exercises I did, and I got real sick of that perky voice telling me “your leg’s a little shaky.” I think the game’s best played on “mute”!

      • theblogrunner says :

        LOL! Never thought of putting it on mute. May have to dust mine off now too. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. notmuchofarunner says :

    I’ve seen this on a couple of blogs now, maybe I ought to try it…
    At least the lying in the floor and breathing bit.

  3. cynthia says :

    I did the lying on the floor part, except it was on my bed. And I did the breathing part, and by breathing I mean snoring. It was restful, but not very stretchy.

  4. osarah26 says :

    Yoga’s perfect for the low-impact days between running. I need to get a yoga mat – our floors are quite slippery and I exert most of my effort just trying to keep myself from falling over!

  5. laurenwayjurlee says :

    I have added yoga to my routine and it has definitely helped with my flexibility. I also wear stability shoes while running, which lets be honest, has made my feet rely on them too much and my feet and ankles are not nearly as strong as they should be. Yoga has helped immensely!

    • theblogrunner says :

      That’s good to know Laura and what I’m hoping for too. I’m going to try to stick to it throughout Juneathon so fingers crossed – and toes, and legs, and right arm over left knee etc… ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

