Juneathon: Day 1

juneathon_participant_logoWith only five weeks to go until my next race, I thought that it might be a good idea to join Juneathon as a way of keeping myself on track. The idea is to do some form of exercise every day and then blog about it and visit the blogs of some of the other Juneathon participants. Sounds pretty simple!

So, this morning I went for a short jog along the seafront. I had hoped to be able to complete 5K this morning, but it seems that my body is still not quite ready after last weekend’s adventures. Apart from the inevitable loss of running fitness after a month or so of mostly walking and hiking, I’m still feeling a bit fatigued. Needless to say, after only 2K, I started to feel a bit queasy so I decided to stop at 2.5 and call it a day.

I’m a little bit concerned that I won’t be back where I want to be for the Race For Life 10K in five weeks time, but I also realise that there’s no point in pushing it too hard at this stage. Recovery is the most important thing right now, regardless of what races I have lined up. And if that means I have to go backwards before I can go forwards, then so be it.

Of course, I am still going to do what I can to get myself ready for the race and I’m still hoping to improve on my PB, but I also accept that it may take a bit longer than I had anticipated. Still, time will tell.

How’s your training going? Are you taking part in Juneathon this year? Do you find it helps you to stay focussed on your goals? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Juneathon: Day 1”

  1. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    I love the idea of a Juneathon and look forward to reading your posts and others’ comments. Personally I have till August to get ready for a mere 5K (although with quite an impressive hill). Moreover, I already decided that my June is going to be all about my novel. If I get it well in hand, perhaps I could attempt a Julyathon.

  2. shazruns says :

    Good luck with the 10k I am sure Juneathon will help get you ready

  3. winsometahn says :

    Enjoy Juneathon! I’m training for my first marathon in September. I’m ok with the running so Juneathon is to keep me on track with the cross training.

  4. notmuchofarunner says :

    Juneathon sounds like a good idea…until about day 5 or 6 when you (for that, actually read ‘I’ ) have said the 5 or 6 moderately interesting things in your (my) head and there follows 25 days of painful randomness. Which is why I have chosen to start with the randomness so as not to raise expectations this year.
    Good luck !

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! Painful randomness sounds about right. πŸ˜€
      I’m always enthusiastic about these things for the first few days and then wonder why the heck I signed up for it. Best of luck! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

