Recovery Run

I’ve spent the last couple of days trying to recover from this weekend’s 100K adventure so, now that I’m no longer walking like a cowboy, I decided to go out for a bit of a run this evening to give the old legs a good stretch.

Because most of my training for the London 2 Brighton Challenge involved walking rather than running, I was a bit concerned about how I would cope with running for a sustained period of time again, but as it turned out it wasn’t too bad.

I headed for the seafront just after 5:00 pm. The weather was a bit drizzly but it was nice and cool, and there weren’t too many people around on the promenade, which was kind of nice.

Despite the fact that I was really itching to get a run in, I didn’t have any problem keeping it nice and slow. In fact, I was surprised at how much my natural pace seemed to have dropped. I’m sure that this is partly to do with my legs still feeling a bit tired, but I also expect that I have lost a bit of pace through my lack of running over the last month or so.

This is something that I will have to work on over the next few weeks as I train for my next 10K, but today was not the day for worrying about the next race. Today was about getting the legs moving, and it worked.

The run itself was short and slow, covering no more than 3 kilometres in 2o:26. I felt pretty tired after it, but I also felt a difference in my legs. They were tired, yes, but the pain and stiffness seems to be easing up so hopefully I’ll be back to running again at the weekend.

How do you recover after a race? Do you go for a run afterwards or rest up completely? Please share your thoughts and ideas in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Recovery Run”

  1. alexxcollins says :

    I ran the London marathon flat out and was surprised at how long it took to recover. I literally could not run for a week afterwards (I cycled four miles to work and back each day -slowly!). The following week I ran 2km very slowly. Week three I did a couple of 4 mile runs and still felt knackered until half way through that week when I finally got my running mojo back! Now I understand why professionals don’t run too many marathons! The recovery has really got in the way of my main objective – the CCC ultra marathon in chamonix at the end of august.

    • theblogrunner says :

      The legs still ache a bit, but it is good to get moving, Spent a couple of days stretching and foam roller-ing first and walked for about ten minutes before jogging. Still not fully recovered but I think it’s helping. To be fair though, I walked most of the 100K so don’t know if that makes the recovery easier.
      Best of luck with the CCC – looks like an awesome race! 🙂

  2. Reallyarunner says :

    Well done on you challenge, hardly surprising your legs are a bit tired. I have never got the recovery thing right and tenf to do too much too soon so I am looking forward to reading comments from anyone with the self discipline to get it right!

  3. artisticsharon says :

    Good to hear your legs were ready for a run, I fear I wouldn’t be able to even move for a week after that distance, lol! I’ll be doing a 10K on July 4th (it’s a holiday in the states) maybe we can keep each other motivated as we train.

  4. osarah26 says :

    The hardest race I did was a mud run and it has taken a little while to feel “back to normal.” I’m slowly getting back into running after taking a little time off.

    • theblogrunner says :

      I think it’s going to take a while for me to get back to where I was, but I’m slowly learning that the important thing is not to push it, regardless of what else is on the calendar. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

