VRUK Blog Hop #3

I haven’t run or been for a long walk since last weekend. Not like me, I know, but after last Sunday’s 50K it’s fair to say that I’ve been feeling more than a little bit broken.

Still, as it’s the first weekend of the month, I thought I’d better get in my post for this month’s Virtual Running UK Blog Hop.

Circle Hop

I checked my Garmin profile this morning and it turns out that, over the last month, I have run more than 56 kilometres and walked or run/walked over 162 kilometres, so I guess it’s no wonder I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather this week.

On the whole though I think the training has been going quite well. While there’s no doubt that I still prefer running over walking, I have enjoyed my long weekend walks as it’s a good excuse to just get out and have time to myself to exercise in the fresh air and I get to travel much further and for much longer than would be possible if I was running.

Unfortunately, walking these kinds of distances does take it’s toll on the feet and the legs, but I guess that’s to be expected as walking uses different muscles from running and they need time to recover just the same.

So, with just under three weeks to go until the London to Brighton Challenge, I still have some training to do but I figured that this week I just needed to take a bit of a break.

Of course, as we’ve got another nice long Bank Holiday Weekend, I may venture out again on Monday. I still need to do a bit of hill walking as part of my training and Ditchling Beacon is just up the road so it would be silly not to have a go – as long as the legs are up to it that is.

How’s your training going? Are you taking part in the Virtual Running UK Blog Hop? To find out more about it, click here. Have a great weekend!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “VRUK Blog Hop #3”

  1. Kerrie says :

    They’re some numbers!

  2. artisticsharon says :

    I can’t even imagine how tired I’d be after all that training so I think you’re smart to take a little break to make sure your muscles and feet get a chance to recover; you certainly don’t want to risk injury this close.

    I’m still following the 10K training program and mixed my run days up a bit this week just because I wasn’t feeling up to running on my planned days. I think it’s best to listen to our bodies.

  3. aschlady says :

    I am hoping to try out the blog hop as I just discovered it! But, I don’t live in the UK and it looks like a lot of the participants do. Is it exclusively for folks that live in the UK? I figured since it’s virtual I can participate… Good luck with all your running endeavors!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hi. Thanks for dropping by. You can still take part if you are outside of the UK. The only issue is with the medal races (which are optional anyway) as it costs a lot more to post the medals overseas, but hopefully we will be including medals for non-UK runners soon. πŸ™‚

  4. osarah26 says :

    Hope you feel nice and rejuvenated after your much-deserved break.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

