Walking With Confidence, Carbs and Cows

There’s less than five weeks to go until the London to Brighton Challenge and, I have to admit, the nerves are starting to kick in. This isn’t helped by the fact that some of the facebook groups that I follow can, at times, turn into a bit of a pissing contest about how many miles everyone has done each week.

Fortunately, when this happens, there are plenty of other group members who offer reassurance to those of us who are doing this for the first time and haven’t covered quite so many miles! And, to be fair, it does encourage me to get out and tackle those long walks at the weekend.

With this weekend extending into a Bank Holiday Monday, I took full advantage of the extra day off and headed out for my longest walk so far. A 43 kilometre walk from Hove to Shoreham then along the River Adur and back again.

43K April 2014

All in all, it took me between nine and a half to ten hours including rest breaks. I’m not sure of the exact time though as my Garmin battery only lasts for eight hours. But Monday’s walk wasn’t about time or pace. It was about testing things out and seeing how long I could go for.

One of my main concerns about taking on this challenge is making sure that I take in enough calories to keep me going. I heard somewhere that having a fatty breakfast before an endurance event like this can help as your body will use the fat in your bloodstream for energy, rather than relying on your carb stores. Of course, you are still going to be using up carbs and need to make sure you keep re-fuelling as you go, but a bit of fat will help you on your way too.

This doesn’t mean having a massive fried breakfast and there are plenty of healthy fatty foods that you can have, such as nuts, eggs and yoghurt. I opted for a bacon sandwich – not the healthiest option, I know, but I also know that my stomach can handle bacon sandwiches at 6:00 am so that was what I went for.

On the walk itself, I snacked on packets of crisps, some mini pork pies, a banana, a small packet of fruit and nuts and even packed some vegetarian sushi and a bottle of chocolate milk for lunch time. Basically, I had a mini banquet of carbs, fat and protein while walking along the river, but it really made a difference to my energy levels. And it may also be the reason that I made a few four legged friends along the way!

One of the best things about walking on this particular route was that everyone said hello as we passed each other, which was really nice. It’s funny how when we pass people in the street, even when we pass the same people every day in the town or city, we barely even make eye contact, yet out on a country walk  we smile and greet complete strangers as if they were our next door neighbours.

The other interesting thing about this walk was the wildlife and farm animals. I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many different varieties of butterfly in one day and was surprised at how low to the ground they seem to fly. This concerned me a little bit as I was worried that I might step on one, but they soon flew up and off into the longer grass as I approached them.

The same, however, cannot be said for the cows. As I approached one particular stile that I needed to cross, I found myself face to face with a group of six very large cows hanging out right next to it. So, rather than running the risk of being eaten  by a cow, I decided to go round them by climbing over the fence instead.

I kind of liked the fact that the cows weren’t fenced in from the path, but up close they did look quite intimidating with their six sets of eyes following me the whole way as I climbed the fence and made my way back onto the path further along the field.

All in all though, it was a great way to spend the Bank Holiday and, by the end of the walk, I felt like I could have gone on for longer if it hadn’t been for the fact that my feet were throbbing like crazy. My shoes had served me well and I didn’t have any blisters, but my feet were starting to pay the price of nine hours or so of constant pressure.

Apparently the way to deal with this is to elevate them to stimulate the blood flow back into the legs so I went to bed that night with a couple of pillows under my feet and by the morning they felt fine – a little tired perhaps, but still pretty good all things considered.

So, with 43K done, I am feeling a bit more confident about the challenge. The next thing is to get some hill training in, but that will have to wait until next weekend.

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Walking With Confidence, Carbs and Cows”

  1. unsportywomencanrun says :

    I had a giggle about your cow encounter. Cows are very curious creatures – our dairy cows will run along the fence checking me out when I run, especially the heifers will do this. But I only know about dairy cows, they are gentle and inquisitive…not sure about beefies. All the best with the training, sounds like you have the event in the bag with all the training you are doing.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you. I did have to laugh when I saw the cows. They were actually very placid, apart from one which jumped up as I climbed over the fence – the cow probably more scared than I was! 😀

  2. artisticsharon says :

    You are really racking up the distance – it looks like you’ve got your training well in hand. I love reading about your adventures while walking/running! And it sounds like the food you ate along the way fueled your body well. You’re doing so great!!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. I still prefer running to walking but there’s no way I could have run that far. The nice thing about it though, is being able to get out of the city and into the countryside – it really is like a whole different world!
      The food made a big a difference too, so I’m feeling much more confident about that side of things. Just need to figure out what to do about those throbbing feet next. 😉

  3. osarah26 says :

    Your walks are becoming truly epic. and I also had a laugh about your meeting with the cows!

  4. Kerrie says :

    Awww cows! Sounds like a lovely walk! 🙂 You’re doing great with all your miles, wouldn’t pay attention to the Facebook folks!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Kerrie. To be fair though, much as it annoys me sometimes, the Facebook thing does give me a much needed push to get on there on those long walks – must be my competitive streak coming out. 😉

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

