Making Plans

It has been a very relaxing weekend so far. Apart from yesterday’s parkrun, I haven’t really done anything in the way of exercise, but now that I am upping my mileage for the London to Brighton Challenge, rest days are becoming increasingly important, especially if I want to avoid injury as the training itself becomes more and more challenging.

My main goal for the challenge has changed since I first signed up for it a few weeks ago. Having done a couple of long(-ish) walks, I realise that simply completing the course is going to be tough, never mind running it, or jogging it, or even finishing within a particular time frame. This year, I just want to be able to do it. Get from the start line to the finish in the best shape possible. And that means I need to start looking after my body during and between training sessions.

With only five weeks to go and having only walked about a third of the distance in one session, I’m starting to get a little bit nervous. So, today I planned a route which, although a lot flatter than the course itself, will take my distance up to between 45 and 50 kilometres.

I plan to start out by walking pretty much the same route as I walked on Friday, from Hove to Shoreham, and then take the path from Shoreham along the River Adur. The idea is to basically follow the path northwards until I get to about 15 miles and then turn around and head for home.

45K Plan

Although the route is far from hilly, the distance will be a challenge in itself. Unlike the actual event where we will be provided with meals or snacks every 12 kilometres or so, when it comes to training, I need to take enough food and drink in my backpack to keep myself fuelled and hydrated along the way. This does make the whole thing a little bit cumbersome, but I guess carrying a bit of extra weight in training won’t do any harm.

At the moment, I am still using my old back pack which tends to jiggle around a bit, especially if I attempt to jog, but hopefully that will be replaced next week when I get paid. There’s a lot of kit that I still need to get and try out before the big day, but I guess I’ll deal with that next week.

For now, I’m having an early night to get myself ready for tomorrow’s long walk. Here’s hoping for some fair weather and a fine day!

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Making Plans”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    You’re really thinking this through! I can’t even imagine that distance but based on your previous posts I have no doubt you’ll handle it well…keep going, we’ll be watching. 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. I think the ‘out and back’ route helps as it makes it look like it’s only half, and once you’ve done the first half you know you can do the second – well, that’s what I’m telling myself this morning as I prepare to set off! 😉

  2. 2 Cups 'N Run says :

    Hope you have a great walk. Is it possible for you to leave food/drinks in advance, somewhere hidden on your walking path?

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks. It’s not bad idea but I’d probably worry that someone might find it and then I’d be in trouble. Still, hopefully I’ll get a new backpack next week which will make things a bit easier. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

