A Nice Easy 10K

After all of the walking and walk/running over the last couple of weeks, it was nice to get back out on the seafront and just run for an hour. It still counted as a training run but, for once, I wasn’t bothered about my pace or distance. I just wanted to relax and enjoy a nice leisurely run with no stopping  and starting or clock watching.

One of the things that I am very bad at when it comes to training runs is sticking to the right pace. I tend to push myself a bit too much towards PBs, which usually leaves me feeling exhausted and unable to run for the next couple of days.

However, now that I am training for my first 100K, the whole concept of getting faster has gone out the window. Instead, I need to focus on getting time on my feet, which means more running and more walking and more days of training each week. In short, I need to go slower.

So, this evening I took things easy. I started my run before I reached the promenade because it didn’t matter if I had to slow down to pass other pedestrians or pause to cross the road; I didn’t worry when I started slowly or try to pull back when the pace picked up; in fact, I barely even looked at my watch the whole time I was out there.

And the result? I wasn’t out of breath when I finished, my legs didn’t ache when they stopped, and I’m not falling asleep as I write my post run blog post. Instead, I feel totally relaxed, content and confident about having another run later in the week.

As for the pace, which is still interesting even though it’s not important tonight, averaged out at 6:45 per kilometre. Not bad for a nice easy 10K!

2014-04-15-Summary

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “A Nice Easy 10K”

  1. osarah26 says :

    Sounds like a great run! Hope the rest of your training goes as smoothly!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

