Parkrun Fun

parkrunWith all this training and focusing on upping my mileage over the last month or so, I seem to have forgotten about one of my favourite things about running. Parkrun!

Back in January, I was all geared up for doing as many Parkruns as I could and hoped to earn my 50 t-shirt within the year but, since the end of February, I haven’t been once. Not even to volunteer.

If I’m honest, part of the problem was that I was getting a little bit bored with the route. Don’t get me wrong, my local Parkrun is great, but running the same route at the same time every Saturday started to become a little bit monotonous. And then, with all the race training, I kind of just forgot about it.

However, now that I am pushing for longer and longer distances, I’m starting to miss my Saturday morning 5K runs, so I have come up with a plan. Not only am I going to get back into going to Parkrun again on a regular basis, but I’m going to try to visit as many other Parkruns as I can over the next few months.

While I am based in the South East of England, I think it would be quite cool to venture a bit further afield and, with a couple of Bank Holiday weekends on the horizon, there’s no reason not to set off on the Friday night and indulge in a bit of Travelodging at the same time.

So, I’m open to suggestions. If you have a Parkrun near you that you think is worth a visit, let me know in the comments and I may well see you at the start line in the not too distant future.

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Parkrun Fun”

  1. unsportywomencanrun says :

    I love being a parkrun tourist, so much fun. parkrun is great as a tempo run or a few of my running friends at my local parkrun start their run with parkrun and then keep going to make it a longer run. I hope you get to visit our parkrun – parkrun in Australia is growing so much but Launceston is the only one in the state of Tasmania.

  2. getgoing-getrunning says :

    I often combine the two – Parkrun as the first part of a long run, or do one on Saturday to give a little fatigue in the legs for the long run on Sunday. I only joined Parkrun this year, but did four or five like this. While it didn’t make me faster, I reckon it did make me stronger so in my marathon I had far less pain and was able to handle the distance a lot easier. If you’re up for a challenge my local Hampstead Heath is a good, very hilly, course. I’ve heard some of the ones up north are also very nice too.

    • theblogrunner says :

      I’m on the South coast so London is fairly accessible for me. I’d love to go up North too but that will take some planning. Hills you say? That will definitely make the list then. πŸ™‚

  3. fisefton says :

    Come on up to York and do the parkrun before going to do some sight-seeing πŸ™‚ The course is really flat round the service road of the race course (1 2/3 laps).

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

