New Shoes and A very Long Walk

With only six weeks to go until the London to Brighton 100K Challenge, I figured it was time to get some more Ks under my belt and trail test my new running shoes!

Brooks Cascadia

Brooks Cascadia Trail Shoes

Now, to be fair, pink would not normally be my colour of choice but as these were the only trail shoes that Sweatshop had available in my size (and the fact that I had a £15 Sweatshop voucher from Parkrun to use), I decided to get them anyway.

I had tried going cross country in my regular trainers a few weeks ago and, while they are great for running on the roads and evenly laid paths, they weren’t so good for walking over bumpy trails and left me with a few hot spots and small blisters. So, I didn’t really mind too much about what my new shoes looked like, as long as they did the job.

I set out just after 8:00 am for what was to be my longest walk so far. I’d decided to go East along the seafront, taking the trail along the top of the cliffs towards Newhaven instead of the Under Cliff Walk that I had taken for my half-marathon earlier in the week.

Down to Under Cliff

Path Leading Down To The Under Cliff Walk

The new shoes felt a bit strange to begin with. For the first few kilometres, I was walking on the promenade (apart from a small stretch of grass on Hove Lawns) so I was concerned about how the trail shoes would feel on the hard surface. But they felt ok.

By the time I reached Brighton Marina and headed up towards the path along the top of the cliffs, I had pretty much stopped thinking about my shoes. I had been worried about blisters before heading out so had put a compeed plaster over the most vulnerable part of my foot but it seemed to be ok. No rubbing at all, which was reassuring.

My plan was to walk for 15K and then turn around and jog/walk back. Despite the hills along the route, I was feeling pretty good. I had packed plenty of water and a couple of bananas to keep me going and took some money with me to get a snack if I needed something more.

Over The Cliffs

A Long Way To Go

However, once I reached 15K, I decided that I might as well keep going a bit further and see if I could do 20K before turning back. Most of the trail runs along the coast road and there were plenty of buses that would take me back to Brighton if I decided that I’d gone too far and didn’t feel like walking back home.

As it turned out though, the path came to an end at around 18K when I reached Newhaven. It was around 12:00 pm by this point, so I decided to head off the trail and down into the town itself to see if I could find a public toilet and somewhere to get some lunch.

There was a small cafe by the harbour, so I stopped to buy a couple of bacon rolls and a coke. The woman in the cafe wrapped the rolls in foil for me, so I put one in my backpack and munched on the other one as I headed back up to the trail.

I was a bit worried about how my stomach would cope with the food, but it was fine, so on the way back I decided that I would try jogging some of the downhill sections. This wasn’t easy with my backpack as it bounced around a lot, but I was enjoying being able to run on roots and rocks and stones without feeling any discomfort in my feet.

To be honest though, I didn’t do as much running as I would have liked on the way back as my legs were starting to ache and I could feel the beginnings of cramps in my calves. I did, however, find that if I drank water as soon as the cramps started, they would go away for a while.

In the end, I managed to make it all the way back to Hove without stopping (apart from a toilet stop) or using public transport and clocked up a very satisfying 37K in 7:05. I was very happy with this and, even though the uphill parts of the route slowed me down a fair bit, I was happy with the pace.

2014-12-04-Summary

When I got home, I was pretty exhausted and my feet ached like crazy, but no more than they did when I used to spend all day on my feet at work. And, when I finally took the shoes off, I was happy to discover that I hadn’t picked up any blisters either.

The biggest lesson that I learned today though, is that at this stage I’m not even close to being able to walk 100K from London to Brighton. However, I feel confident that, as long as I keep up the training for the next six weeks, I should be able to just about cope with it. It won’t be easy, but it is doable.

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “New Shoes and A very Long Walk”

  1. Girl Runs Wild says :

    This is so cool! I recently bought the exact same (!) shoe for my ultramarathon challenge in June and am clocking some serious miles in them – including a 24 mile recce run of the Cateran trail today. I’m really impressed with the shoe, it really is a fantastic all-rounder and is very comfortable and reasonably light on the feet. In my books, it’s a winner. I hope it’ll work out as well for you!

    • theblogrunner says :

      They definitely felt light and I was really impressed that I could walk on pretty uneven ground without feeling it. The support was also good when I almost slipped my foot down a rabbit hole – that’ll teach me to watch where I’m going instead of taking pictures on my phone! 😉

  2. jaymeball13 says :

    whew. that is one heck of a walk, but it sounds like you had quite the day out of it. 🙂 mmmm bacon roll. good luck to you with your 100k!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you. It was a heck of a walk and I felt pretty exhausted by the end of it, but hopefully it will help build my stamina for the big day. Only six weeks to go…. eeek! :-/

  3. artisticsharon says :

    wow…what a distance! Congrats! I do worry that you may not be taking in enough nutrition throughout your walk/run. 7 hours is a long time to go on just bacon rolls…listen to your body, it knows best.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Yes, I definitely need to take more food on these long walks. I had a couple of bananas too, but could probably have done with something more as I was pretty done by the end of it. Still, it’s all part of the learning process. 😉

  4. getgoing-getrunning says :

    Just keep on truckin’!
    Good idea on the bacon rolls. Not only do they taste good but they feature on the menu for the hot food stops on the action challenges organised walk – you’re practicing fuelling for the race 😉
    Good to hear the new shoes worked out for you. You’ve also given yourself plenty of time to break them in before the race – something I didn’t do before I did this walk. I ended up having to slice open a blister the size of a £2 coin at the 35km point and tape it back up so I could continue. Gross, and pretty painful.
    Six weeks to go, you’ll get there!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Jumble Spoiler – 04/14/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog - April 14, 2014

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

