BM10K Race Recap

Today was the big day. The day that I have been training for, through wind and rain and the occasional spot of sunshine. Today was Brighton Marathon Day and, most importantly for me,  the day of the inaugural BM10K.

It was to be an early start for the 10K runners, heading off at 8:30 am, 45 minutes ahead of the Brighton Marathon itself. As usual, the organisers recommended that we arrive an hour before the race to give enough time to drop our bags off at the baggage truck and make use of the porta loos.

The start line was in Preston Park, about a 30 minute walk from where I live, so I had to make sure I was up and out by 7:00 am to give myself enough time. I had packed my kit bag the night before, including a waterproof jacket as we were forecast for rain.

When I left the house, I was happy that the rain seemed to have stopped for the most part – there was a little bit of drizzle, but nothing to worry about.

Everything went pretty smoothly at the park. After finding the correct baggage truck for the 10K, I had plenty of time to wander around and have a good stretch before heading to the start line.

There were about 1,500 of us doing the 10K, which was nice as it meant that no one had to start too far back, and the atmosphere was pretty friendly. People were chatting to complete strangers as if they had known them all their lives.

After a few minutes of hanging around the start line, we were introduced to our official starter, none other than Paula Radcliffe herself, who wished as well and clapped and waved as she sent us on our way.

As I expected, my plan to run the first 5K at a 6:45 minute per kilometre pace went completely to pot. I set off much faster than I should have and, despite the fact that it was pretty crowded for the first couple of kilometres, struggled to keep my pace down.

That being said, the quicker pace felt ok. I was pretty relaxed and really just enjoying being able to run through the streets of Brighton without having to worry about the traffic.

There was, however, somewhere between 4 and 5 kilometres, as real bastard of a seagull who seemed intent on bombing us. Luckily though, we were all a bit to quick for him and managed to reach the 5K mark completely unscathed.

At 5K, I checked my time and saw that my pace, although a still a little quicker than I had planned, had eased off a bit. This was a good thing as I wanted to preserve some energy for the second half and try to pick things up for a strong finish.

At this point, the rain started, which was perfect timing as far as I was concerned. It didn’t last too long though. Just enough to cool me down a bit as I picked up the pace a notch or two.

Although I was quite near the back of the pack, I noticed that I was starting to overtake some of the runners in front of me. I didn’t want to push it too hard, but just allowed my pace to creep up enough to pass them and keep going.

The crowd support on this final stretch along the seafront also really helped. Even though most people were probably out to see the marathon itself, their clapping, cheering and shouts of encouragement gave me a much needed lift as I ignored the pains in my legs and ploughed on.

With only 1 kilometre to go, I was starting to feel pretty tired. I knew the finish line was close, but I still couldn’t see it. Part of me wanted to start kicking, but the other part of me wasn’t sure. I didn’t have much left in me and I wanted a strong finish, so I tried to keep it steady until the clock appeared around the corner. And then I went for it!

I didn’t exactly sprint to the finish line, but allowed my legs to just go steadily faster and faster until I crossed the line.

I checked the time on my Garmin and it looked like a new PB, but I wanted to wait until I got home to check my chip time. And, sure enough it was. 1:06:10 on the clock and 1:05:20 on the chip. Either way, it beats my old PB hands down! And, to celebrate, I get this lovely shiny new medal and a BM10K finisher’s t-shirt!

BM10K Medal

Although my race experience is very limited, I have to say that the finisher’s area was absolutely brilliant. As well as getting our medals and t-shirts, we were also given water, a pack of Belvita Breakfast biccies, a banana and a bottle of Gatorade to help rejuvenate us after the race.

So, would I recommend this race? Absolutely! Will I do it again next year? Well, that depends. If I’m not doing the marathon, then yes. Either way, I’ll definitely be running a race in Brighton this time next year!

Tags: , ,

23 responses to “BM10K Race Recap”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    Yay! I was anxiously awaiting this post…so glad to hear you had a great race AND a PB to boot! Whoop Whoop!!

    I’ll be thinking of you when I run the Charlotte Run Fest 10K next Saturday and hopefully channeling some of your speed (although nowhere near your PB) 🙂

  2. artisticsharon says :

    and by the way…that’s some really nice hardware!

  3. Fitness On Toast says :

    Congratulations you 🙂 very inspiring stuff!!!

  4. Piper's Run says :

    Congrats, well done!!!!

  5. New Girl Running says :

    congratulations! enjoy your medal! hope you’re already booking your next one 🙂

  6. runningprincess78 says :

    Well done on your PB!

  7. getgoing-getrunning says :

    Congratulations on a great run and a new PB!

  8. Kerrie says :

    Sorry about the extremely delayed comment – but – well done! Congratulations on the new PB 🙂 That’s awesome, you are soooooo fast! 🙂 Love your medal too 🙂 Sounds like a good race and day.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Kerrie. I was really pleased with my time and would definitely recommend the race for anyone who wants to be involved in the Brighton Marathon Weekend but doesn’t fancy the 26.2 miles just yet. 🙂

      • Kerrie says :

        🙂 I have a friend down Brighton and keep meaning to visit but I think I’ll wait till the Brighton Marathon and tackle the 10k! 😉 🙂

      • theblogrunner says :

        Sounds like a great plan! It really was a brilliant event and felt like a really big deal compared with other 10Ks, what with it being part of the Marathon Weekend and everything.
        There are a few 10Ks in the city throughout the year too and we have two Parkruns that you could try if you wanted to visit before then though. 😉

      • Kerrie says :

        Two Parkruns? Oh wow! I’d have to go when there was a race. I don’t know whether that’s a good thing, or bad – that I’d organise my future trips around running events lol!

      • theblogrunner says :

        Ha ha! I’m sure your friend would be happy to see you regardless – and you could always persuade them to join you. 😀

      • Kerrie says :

        True! I could 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

