Around The World Blogging Relay

atwbrA couple of weeks ago, I signed up for the Around The World Blogging Relay, a two month blog hop hosted by Kyla at Motivation, where participants log their miles or kilometres every week to see how far around the world they can go. At the moment, there are forty participants, so I’ll be surprised if we make it all the way around the globe, but that’s not really the point. The important thing is that it is a great way to discover new blogs while motivating yourself to get running.

When I signed up, I think I set myself a goal of running 140km over the two months, although I’m not entirely sure. I remember being in a pretty optimistic mood at the time, so whatever it was, it was pretty high for me. Needless to say, by the end of Week 2 reality had set in and I found that I had only clocked up 27km.

The truth is, I haven’t been running as much as I had planned to when I started my training plan for the BM10K. I guess it’s that over optimistic thing that happens when I forget that I didn’t run at all between the ages of about 14 and 39 (except perhaps for the occasional bus and I usually missed them anyway), and stupidly assume that my 40 year old body can adapt to exercise in the same way that it could 25 years ago.

So, with increased mileage, speed training and the stresses, strains and sometimes cold reality of adult life and work, I have found myself unable to keep up with my training plan over the last few weeks.

Don’t get me wrong though. The training is going well and I have even managed to get a couple of PBs over the last few weeks; it’s just that I barely have the energy at the moment to run two times a week, never mind three or four!

However, this evening I decided that I had to go out and get some Ks in for the Blogging Relay. I was feeling pretty tired after work and a little bit fed up, so I figured that a good run along the seafront would help with that too.

According to the training plan, I was supposed to run 5K at my goal 10K pace. This seemed like a good idea. Nothing too strenuous. Just a nice easy run to practise my pacing, leaving myself enough energy to get another run in on Saturday.

Unfortunately, when I got to the seafront, the rain started and the wind picked up, making it very difficult to keep the pace constant. So, instead of working on my pacing, I just decided to relax and run nice and slowly against the wind and then pick it up a bit when the wind was behind me.

All in all, it was an ok run. Nothing special, no PBs but no disasters either. Part of me feels a little bit disappointed because the run didn’t really give me the lift that I’d hoped it would, but on the other hand, maybe that will help me get myself up and running for another 5K on Saturday to end the week on a high note.

How’s your training going? Are you taking part in the Around The World Blogging Relay? How do you keep yourself motivated when your training isn’t going to plan? Please share your thoughts and ideas in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Around The World Blogging Relay”

  1. unsportywomencanrun says :

    It isn’t easy keeping up with the training plan and being a grown up with grown up responsibilities. Tomorrow is always another day 🙂 I don’t get too upset when things don’t go according to plan, I always console myself with the fact that at least I’m doing my best to get out there and do things that in years gone by would only have been things of dreams 🙂

  2. ultraboycreates says :

    Can you still get involved with the challenge? This sounds awesome

  3. Girl Runs Wild says :

    Well done for getting out and about despite feeling tired and in the bad weather! It’s great to hear that your training is going well and that you are smart about it. I did a tempo run in a minor hailstorm this week (whatever happened to spring?) and knew there was no way I could hit my target pace. However, that doesn’t mean that I couldn’t go out and run as hard as I could manage at that point – it’s still the same workout! I’m part of #ATWRBR as well, but I’m still tapering so my mileage hasn’t been as high as per usual. But, it all adds up! 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks for the encouragement! And you’re right, it does all add up. 🙂 I kind of look at the wind as some kind of resistance training, and we’ve had a lot of that over the last few months! I say bring on the Spring so we can get back to complaining about the heat! 😉

  4. runningprincess78 says :

    The weather lately hasn’t made getting out for a run easy so well done for getting out there. Sometimes life just gets in the way so I try to be flexible with my plan and make sure it fits me rather than the other way around. Good luck with your training.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you! 🙂 I like you’re approach to the plan. I know we have to push ourselves sometimes, but other times it’s better just to leave it. Hope your training is going well too. 🙂

  5. Kerrie says :

    I’ve just posted my miles/km to Kyla 🙂 Sometimes life just gets busy, fitting everything around can be a pain! I wanted to get a run in on Thursday, the clock was closer to 10pm when I went out! Congratulations on sticking it out those! I can imagine its cold at the sea front!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hi Kerrie. I don’t mind the cold too much as I tend to overheat quite quickly. 😉
      Well done for going out at 10pm though! Don’t think I’ve ever gone running that late, although I do go ridiculously early sometimes.
      Oh, and thanks for reminding me… I need to post my K-age(?) to Kyla too.
      Have a great weekend. 🙂

  6. getgoing-getrunning says :

    Great for getting out and running! I wouldn’t get too concerned about the plan. It’s a tool, not a rule. Some flexibility is expected and not going to bomb the schedule or the distance you’re aiming for. Keep it going!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

