VRUK Blog Hop #1

Circle HopToday is the very first Virtual Running UK Blog Hop, a place where bloggers who run and runners who blog get to take part in a Free Virtual 5K Race once a month, write a blog post about their running and then hop over to visit and comment on each other’s posts.

Each blog hop takes part on the first Saturday of the month, once all the results have been posted on the Virtual Running UK website, so I thought I’d get my post written early so that I can spend more time reading other people’s blog posts… after Parkrun, of course!

Which brings me nicely on to February’s Virtual 5K. I try to run 5K a couple of times a week, one of which is usually at my local Parkrun. I’ve been going to Parkrun pretty much since I first completed C25K back in October.

As well as being a great place to meet up with other runners and get used to running with a large group of people, it’s also a good way to map your progress if you’re running the same course each week while trying to work towards a new PB.

Parkrunpic1

As someone who is still quite new to running it makes sense that my own PB has improved quite a bit over the last few months. However, after being injured shortly after completing C25K, I had to take a few weeks off, which seemed to set me back quite a lot. So much so that throughout December and January I was running much slower than I had been back in October!

But when February came around, something strange happened. Not only did I find myself getting faster again, I also managed to get two PBs in a row at Parkrun, the second of which was the result that I used for February’s 5K Virtual Race.

I know I’m still not very fast and I’ve got a long way to go, but it’s early days yet. For me, the most important thing is that I’m getting fit, having fun and meeting new people, both off and on-line.

The blogging community has been a real inspiration and a great source of support and encouragement, which is one of the reasons that I’m really excited about this Virtual Running Blog Hop.

So, if you’re reading this from the blog hop, please leave a comment and let me know you dropped by; and if you’re already a regular reader, then I hope you’ll leave a comment too and have a think about joining next month’s virtual race and blog hop.

There are some great running blogs out there so go and check them out over at Virtual Running UK. Have a great weekend!

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “VRUK Blog Hop #1”

  1. readysteadyrun says :

    32:04 is a great time and a PB is an amazing feeling also when it comes to parkrun im not sure if you have/do listen to the parkrun show but its a weekly podcast full of parkrun facts and just general fun banter. hopefully your running will improve and you will continue going from strength to strength.

  2. Girl Runs Wild says :

    Great post and well done on all those parkrun PBs! It’s a shame that you got injured so soon, but it’s good that you were sensible and rested when you needed it. Even better is the fact that you got back into running. I sometimes think that we place too much importance on speed in running though. Sure, it’s nice to be fast, but it’s far more important to have fun and enjoy what you are doing. I think you are totally on the right track! Keep moving forward! =D

  3. ewenlewis says :

    I’m looking forward to joining in and supporting VRUK I think it is a great idea and hopefully it will encourage people to push themselves to meet that goal or challenge.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hi Ewen. That would be great if you joined in! As a new runner, I’ve found everyone’s support on here has really helped keep me on track, so I really hope other people find this useful. 🙂

  4. Larry says :

    Congratulations on the personal best! Once I’m fully up to speed, I may jump in on this “Virtual Running” idea locally. Keep up the great work!

  5. tamsynsmith says :

    Well done for getting two PBs in a row… it’s been a few years since I managed that (my last real parkrun PB was in April 2012, although as I’m running at a different parkrun now, it looks like I’ve had some PBs). I find parkrun a great motivator!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Tamsyn. I’m still pretty new to running, so I guess it’s normal to get a few PBs at this stage- also great for motivation!
      Well done on your Parkrun PBs too! Even when they’re not overall PBs, it still feels good to get one and to know that you’ve improved on the course.
      Hope you’re having a great weekend. 🙂

  6. getgoing-getrunning says :

    What a great idea! I’ve signed up. Looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

