Virtual Running

I decided to take a couple of days off work this week, partly because I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather and don’t want to get sick, but mostly because I’ve got an exciting new project that I needed to do some work on.

It all started back in January when I was fundraising for the Chichester Priory 10K Road Race. I hadn’t really done much to raise money for my chosen charity, The British Heart Foundation, and the race was only a few weeks away, so I felt I had to do something to help me get closer to my fundraising goal.

The problem was that I have this thing about asking people for money – I don’t like doing it! Especially people that I don’t know. So, even though the blog seemed like a good place to mention it, I didn’t feel entirely comfortable with the idea of using it to raise money.

running4

So, I decided that instead of just asking people to sponsor me, I would offer them a medal in exchange for a donation. As this is a running blog and most of the people who read it are runners, they could join me in a Virtual Run and earn their medal at the same time!

I was so excited when Leah and Sam emailed me saying that they wanted to take part. I’ve been following both of their blogs for a while now: Leah and I completed Couch to 5K at around the same time and has always been a great source of encouragement and support; and Sam, who I’ve been following since he started Couch to 5K in August, has also gone on to complete his first 10K race and continues to inspire me with his progress and his enthusiasm for running.

As well as donating to The British Heart Foundation, both Leah and Sam wrote a blog post about their run for the fundraiser (thank you guys!) which you can read here:

Leah’s Post: Virtual Running February 5K

Sam’s Post: My First Virtual 10km Race

Now, if you’ve already read Leah’s post, you probably know what happens next. You see, I started to get thinking about this whole virtual running malarkey and, being a bit of a tech geek, I thought it might be fun to see if I could organise a proper virtual race – you know, one with it’s own website, regular races, maybe some medals and a bit of fundraising and perhaps even a little blog hop to encourage more runners to blog and more bloggers to run and… well, you get the idea.

So that’s what I did.

Circle HopAt the end of January I launched Virtual Running UK and, with the help of a new Twitter account and a few more medals, people started signing up for my very first Free Virtual 5K Race and Blog Hop!

The idea is pretty simple. All you have to do is register with Virtual Running UK, log a 5K run any time during the month, send in your results with your registration number and evidence of your time, and include a link to your blog if you want to hop. Then, on the first Saturday of the month, the results are posted on the site along with links to those taking part in the blog hop.

So, if you’d like to join the fun, go and check it out. There’s still time to register and you can log any 5K run that you’ve done this month. Oh, and did I mention the prizes? There will be prizes. And points. And lots of other good stuff.

Here’s the link: Virtual Running UK

Have fun!

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Virtual Running”

  1. Leah Hallissey says :

    Whoop whoop! Already looking forward to the March run, such a great idea! Thanks for your encouragement and support, too! 🙂

  2. fullmoonrunner says :

    I think this is a fantastic idea! I love the virtual race – yet another way to get a lot of people running together, which is always wonderful. It’s a lovely idea to combine this with your fundraising quest, but I’d support you regardless and I’m sure I’m not alone in this! =) I have signed up for the virtual race and look forward to participating in it!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you Julia! I’m really glad you’ve joined the race and thanks again for supporting the British Heart Foundation. I set a fairly high fundraising goal so it all helps to bring us closer to the target. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

