Mind Games

When it comes to running, I find that I have a bit of a split personality, especially during those longer runs. Not only do I become a master of manipulation and motivation, but I also become incredibly gullible and susceptible to my own mind games. All in a good way of course!

This morning was to be the first long run of my new 10K training plan and I was really looking forward to it. In order to run for more than an hour without stopping, I would have to keep my pace nice and slow which would mean a nice easy run with no pressure – other than the pressure of running 10K that is.

My left calf and ankle were feeling a little bit tight so I used my ankle support in case the old Achilles decided to rear it’s ugly head again. It felt weird wearing the support as hadn’t used it since my race a couple of weeks ago, but there’s no point in taking any chances, right?

It was a bit windy this morning so I avoided the seafront and started off with a few laps of Hove Recreation Ground before heading to the park. I’ve used this route before and, as it involves some inclines, I wanted to find out if I could feel any improvement since last time.

11K Map-2014-02-23

After three laps of Hove rec, I was feeling pretty good, but was becoming a little bit bored with the repetition. Each lap is only about 1K and, while it felt nice to clocking up each kilometre, there was no way I was going to do seven more repetitions. So I headed for the park.

My legs were feeling a little bit tired so I decided to run along the road for a while before going down to the park itself – there are a lot of inclines in the park and, once you’re in there, they are impossible to avoid. Imagine running inside a giant bowl where the path climbs around the sides and that’s what Hove Park is like. Once you’re in there, the only way round is up!

11K Elevation-2014-02-23

As I descended into the park, I noticed a man unloading a van with a British Military Fitness logo on the side of it. I don’t know if you have this where you are, but you’ve probably seen something similar – lots of people running around in different coloured tabards doing crazy painful looking exercises in the open air. At this point they were all just milling around, but I did spot one woman jumping onto a park bench with both feet together. Crazy stuff!

Anyway, as I completed my first lap, I noticed that my right leg didn’t too great. I wasn’t sure what it was. Probably just over-compensating for the left one, so I started to focus on my breathing (three steps in two steps out) to make sure I landed on a different foot for each out breath.Β This seemed to work as the pain faded on the next lap and I had forgotten about it completely by the third.

As I reached the end of the ninth kilometre, I knew that I only had to do a half lap to finish, but I began to wonder if I could handle doing a bit more. I only had to do 10K to complete the workout, but I was having a lot of fun so I decided against taking the path that cuts through the middle of the park and stuck to the perimeter instead. After all, it was a circuit so if I was done by 10K I could just walk back round.

Of course, when I hit the 10K point, I knew I would keep going. I had just completed the longest incline and descended back down to the flat, so I could easily keep going, if only to complete the lap. The only problem was that when I did complete the lap, my distance was 10.5K and my time was around 1 hour 13 minutes. Now I don’t have anything against half kilometres or the number thirteen, but it would feel better to run either the eleventh kilometre or end on a more even time, like 1 hour 15 minutes.

At this point, I couldn’t really see myself doing 11K, so I decided to just keep going for another two minutes. It reminded me of doing Couch to 5K all those months ago and I realised that, nine months ago when I started all this I couldn’t have imagined myself running 5K or even five minutes for that matter.

These thoughts kept me going for the next minute or so until my watch showed that I had been running for almost 1 hour 15 minutes. I could stop! Oh, no, hang on a sec. I only have to do another 100 metres to get to 11k! There was no way I could stop short of that!Β So, I kept going until I reached 11.01 kilometres and then stopped my timer at 1:15:34.

One of the things that was really nice about this run though, was that I only used my Garmin to check my distance and make sure I wasn’t going too fast at any point. I wasn’t thinking about beating my 10K time or achieving negative splits; I just wanted to take it easy, enjoy the run and make sure I could run the distance. But somehow, the splits turned out pretty good too.

11K Splits-2014-02-23

This is my longest run so far and it felt great, but it did mean that I ended up sleeping for most of the afternoon. I know that as I build up the distance, I’m going to have to think more about nutrition and make sure that I fuel up properly after these longer runs. This is going to be a bit of a challenge as I’m pretty lazy when it comes to food, so any suggestions or advice would be very much appreciated.

How do you motivate yourself to run longer distances? Do you play mind games with yourself to keep you going? What’s your favourite post-run food? Please share your thoughts, ideas and advice in the comments.

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “Mind Games”

  1. Kerrie says :

    Wow go you! πŸ˜€
    My best runs to date are usually before teatime so when I get back in I usually make tea…I’m no help there!

  2. Keith says :

    Good going. Sounds like we all got heavy winds to run against today. Well done.

  3. eddiegotsole says :

    Nice going making it through that run! Even as I’m preparing for my 7th Marathon in 2 weeks I’m CONSTANTLY playing mind games on my runs! It keeps things interesting and helps me to challenge myself. Also it keeps my mind occupied since I don’t run with any music. Sometimes I’ll look at a point and see if I could make it there before a specific minute mark, sometimes I’ll see a runner in the distance and see if I could pass him/her.

    Another type of mind game is when I try to maintain a particular pace, or when I run progressive paced and every mile is faster than the next.

    As far as fuel after a long run, I’d say try to get some liquid nutrition that is processed much faster through your body, either something like a recovery or protein powder that you can mix easily with water or milk. Should at least buy you enough time to plan a real meal!

  4. theblogrunner says :

    Hi Eddie. I stopped running with music a while ago, so the mind games are definitely a good way to keep things interesting – kind of like an inner coach!
    I’m looking into the whole nutrition thing but haven’t read much about protein powder yet so I’ll try to find out a bit more.
    Thanks for the tip. πŸ™‚

  5. LeAnn Cady says :

    Great job, girl! So glad to learn how you’re “shaking” up your running workouts lately! My absolute favorite post-recovery drink is not a sugary sports drink but low-fat chocolate milk! Research and studies have shown that it has the right combination of protein, fats, and carbs to replenish your body quicker (and for your next workout) than other types of sports drink. So, bottoms up!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Chocolate milk! I used to love that after running during the summer months, but tend to have a hot drink when I get back in from the cold. Perhaps I could try a nice big mug of hot chocolate instead of my usual black coffee? Cheers! πŸ˜‰

  6. artisticsharon says :

    I’m so inspired! you are a force to be reckoned with πŸ™‚ congrats on your longest distance!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

