Effort

I’ve been trying to come up with a word to describe this evening’s run – tiredflatdisappointing, but none of them quite hit the mark. They all seem a bit too negative and although it wasn’t the best run, it wasn’t that bad either.

When I got home from work, I wasn’t sure if  I should go out running or not. Physically, I was feeling pretty tired but mentally I felt that I needed a bit of a boost, so I thought why not? Just a quick 5K to get the blood pumping and practise some speed work. So, I ate a banana, drank a small glass of water, tied on my trainers and headed for the seafront.

It was a pretty calm evening, with no wind or rain to battle against and the temperature was around 5C, which made it nice and cool for running. I figured that this would be a good opportunity to try to pace myself into some negative splits, possibly using the same technique that I used on my last couple of runs where I picked up the pace for short bursts between lamp posts.

I set off fairly slowly to make sure that I didn’t burn up all my energy too soon and gradually picked up the pace for each kilometre as planned. This worked really well for the first four kilometres but by the time I got into the fifth, I was starting to run out of steam. I’m not sure what it was. Perhaps I just hadn’t eaten enough earlier in the day, or maybe my body was still recovering from Monday evening’s 10K, but I just didn’t have any oomph left in me.

Splits_2014-01-22

Don’t get me wrong. I didn’t feel that I needed to stop. I was still doing ok. It was just that I was finding it difficult to maintain my pace, never mind pick it up for a strong finish. So I decided to just relax and let myself slow down.

To be honest, I felt pretty flat and more than a little bit disappointed that I couldn’t find what I needed to push on; but the more I thought about it, the more I realised that it had still been a pretty good effort, all things considered.

Besides, with just over two weeks until race day, there’s no point in taking any unnecessary risks. Better to slow down now and preserve some energy for a more beneficial workout later in the week than over train and run the risk of injury.

How much effort do you put into your training runs? Do you always try to run at maximum effort, or do you find it pays to take things a bit easier from time to time? Please share your thoughts and ideas in the comments.

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Effort”

  1. LeAnn Cady says :

    My philosophy is that you have to know when to “call it.” Not ALL runs are going to go well. And, sometimes, my BEST runs happen at times when I LEAST feel like running. If I’m scheduled for a particular training run (5K Pace or tempo run or intervals), I may switch training days. With that said, I ALWAYS make sure I get all of my scheduled runs in each week of training. Good job on getting it done tonight, Blog Runner.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks LeAnn. I find the same thing sometimes about best runs happening when least expected, although I’m nowhere near as disciplined as you are when it comes to the training plan. I blame the weather and lack of funds for a gym membership. 😉
      Still, it was good to get a run in before the weather turns again. 🙂

  2. WalkToRio says :

    Sometimes the effort I put into a workout is limited to getting out there and getting it done. Some days you aren’t just feeling “it” and that’s fine, you gotta take it easy too. Not every day’s gotta be a hard day.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

