An Unexpected Achievement

After feeling rubbish and not running all weekend, I decided to go for a run this evening. I don’t usually run on Mondays, but work has suddenly become very busy and I needed to unwind. So I took advantage of the fact that it wasn’t wet or windy outside and headed to the seafront.

I didn’t really have much of a plan for the run. I was feeling pretty tired and very irritable, so I figured I would just go for a nice long slow run to empty my mind and give myself a bit of a boost. I suppose deep down I really wanted to run 10K, just to prove to myself that the last time wasn’t a fluke, but I didn’t really expect what happened next.

The first 5 kilometres were nice and slow and steady as I jogged along, watching everyone run past. My pace was very slow, but I didn’t mind. I didn’t even look at my watch to check how slowly I was going – just a couple of glances to keep an eye on my distance. But that was all.

As approached the 5 kilometre mark, however, I realised that if I kept the same pace going I could probably get a 10K PB. Ok, so I know I’ve only run 10K once before and most people get a few PBs early on in their training as they get used to the distance, but I’d covered 5K in something close to 36 minutes, so I was on track to beat my previous time of 1:14:23.

I also realised that because I’d been going very slowly, I still felt pretty fresh; if I could pick up the pace a little bit, I might even hit my target of 1:10:00. I remembered reading somewhere that when you run 10K, the race really happens in the second half, so by taking it easy for the fist 5 kilometres I’d set myself up for a better time without even really thinking about it.Β And so the second half of my run became a race, not just to get a 10K PB, but to run it in under 1:10:00.

I decided to try the strategy that I’d used on my last 5K run – maintaining a good Β steady pace with some short bursts of speed between lamp posts. The frequency of these short bursts dropped off a bit after the 6th kilometre, but from then on I found that I was achieving some good negative splits.

Of course, with my goal time in sight, I was keeping an eye on my Garmin and had to really push myself for the final half kilometre in particular, but I did it! 10K in 1:09:12!

Splits_2014-01-20

I know it’s still slow by race standards, but for a second attempt at the distance in less than two weeks, I was over the moon to have knocked more than five minutes off my time and to have achieved my 10K goal.

With less than three weeks until race day, I have to say that I’m starting to feel pretty good about the whole 10K thing – nervous of course, but nervous in a good way.

Tags: , , , , ,

18 responses to “An Unexpected Achievement”

  1. Piper's Run says :

    Congrats on your PB! That’s awesome, way to push through it!

  2. LeAnn Cady says :

    Sometimes when you least feel like running, a great run, a great opportunity presents itself to you. Enjoyed your blog and reading about your unexpected achievement for a personal best 10k! You’re well on your way!

  3. mtbader says :

    Congrats! That’s awesome!

  4. couchtorunning says :

    Congrats on the PB! That is awesome!

  5. createdincuckooland says :

    Woo hoo! That’s fantastic,well done! πŸ™‚

  6. WalkToRio says :

    Yay for you!

  7. Kerrie says :

    πŸ˜€ That’s awesome, well done! πŸ™‚

  8. artisticsharon says :

    That’s so great! Woot woot! I’m hoping to finish my 10k in 1:20; your 1:09 is outstanding!!!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you Sharon. I guess I had a lot of stress to run off on Monday! πŸ˜‰
      I’m sure you’ll get your 1:20 now that your toe is on the mend. Hope the RTG program is going well. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

